Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

Baikal Cube 300m - Can they be linked up together?

Discussion in 'Hardware Discussions (ASIC / GPU / CPU)' started by Flip, Apr 12, 2017.

  1. Flip

    Flip New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Hi all. New to Dash Forums!

    Please could someone tell me if the Baikal Cubes (300m) can be linked up together?
    Wanted to get 3 of them.

    Thanks!
    Flip
     
  2. ccminer

    ccminer New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Hi I'm new as well and I have the same question ehehe
     
  3. mrearthbound

    mrearthbound Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2017
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    88
    I'm not really sure linking 3 of them together is going to do any difference, though. Just put them in a pool and you'll get corresponding rewards proportional to your hash rate
     
  4. ccminer

    ccminer New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Each of them need a lan wire connection if I can connect them together I can use just one Internet wire for example
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  5. Dee

    Dee New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    You can definitely connect them together to one lets say, one 900Mhs (3x 300Mhs) Unit. They also have a quad cube version to purchase.

    Benefit would be:​

    Save on the necessary LAN wires and ports.​

    Save 2x Poweconsumption and excess heat of the controller board, although thats not much.​

    Easier access and management.​

    Drawback would be:​

    You can only point the whole hashing power to one pool at a time.


    They have changed the cables to interconnect the units. The Cube ones are 5pin, the Mini and Giant ones are 10-pin.

    When you buy a cube at a time, like I did, they do not ship a interconnect cable with it. So you would have to buy or organize them yourself from somewhere.

    I'm planning to connect 4 of them together. When I purchased the Cube, the quad version was not available...
     
    #5 Dee, May 1, 2017
    Last edited: May 1, 2017
    • Informative Informative x 2
  6. Gunna

    Gunna Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    48
    i'd be interested on knowing where I can buy the interconnect cables as well. Support is not offering a solution
     
  7. Dee

    Dee New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi there,

    the only supplier of the Baikal CUBE interconnect cables I have found so far is one on Aliexpress. That shop wants 10 USD for one cable and that's way too much.
     
  8. LostInSpace

    LostInSpace Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    104
    Trophy Points:
    103
    It is very simple to build those cables yourself, I build 2 10-pin cables for my giants and about 3 cables for cubes.

    All you need is the standard 4S1P connectors (usually used for balance chargers, 4 pins for the batteries, 1 pin for ground), you can order 10 of them for $0.99 from ebay:
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/10pcs-New-4...715968?hash=item3d2986f700:g:DAsAAOSw32lYosZs

    Then you can connect them together and voila, you got 5 cables to connect any Baikal Cube together for less than a dollar.
     
  9. LostInSpace

    LostInSpace Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    104
    Trophy Points:
    103
    And this is how you connect them together, look at how Baikal Quads are linked together (see pin diagram with IN/OUT on page 3), it works the same way with the Baikal Giant blades (just with 10pin cables there). One device is the master and gets the commands via the USB cable from the PI, then you chain the second 5pin cable to the first slave first 5pin, from there you can use the second 5pin to the second slave, etc. up to 5 devices works stable according to Baikal.
    http://pan.baidu.com/s/1o7Ugpb8
     
    • Like Like x 1