Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

A How-To..., with the -QT Wallet - PART THREE

Discussion in 'Mining' started by MangledBlue, Jul 7, 2014.

  1. MangledBlue

    MangledBlue Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    183
    --------------------
    3) -HOW TO SOLO-MINE
    --------------------
    Most people will tell you that Solo-Mining is point-less.
    To a point, I agree.....
    I think of it from time to time, how much of a lost art it really is.
    Pushed to the side and never talked about really.
    But if everybody would turn ON their -Qt Wallet to Solo-Mine,
    our Network would maintain a minimal Hash-rate, constantly.

    - Be sure that you have created the above <darkcoin.conf> file
    ----------------------------------
    - OPEN your DarkCoin -Qt Wallet before mining
    ----------------------------------
    -Qt Wallet will not start mining until you run a, Command-line
    ----------------------------------
    - Transactions will appear in the Overview window.
    -- When you find a Block Solo-Mining, it will appear as an incoming transaction.
    -- You'll see a really cool Mining Icon (X)
    -------------------------------------------

    3.1) (CPU) (local) -Qt Wallet
    ----------------------------------
    If you want the quick and easy answer to CPU Solo-Mining,
    CLICK: Help
    CLICK: Debug Window
    CLICK: Console

    Input the following command-line: setgenerate true -1

    -And now your Solo-Mining-
    -------------------------------

    3.1.1) More details........
    ---------------------------------
    To START mining: setgenerate true -1

    To STOP mining: setgenerate false

    Proof of/if mining: getgenerate
    (TRUE = ON FALSE = OFF)

    Shows a lot of mining info: getmininginfo
    -----------------------------------------------

    3.2) (GPU) (local) -Qt Wallet
    ----------------------------------
    You'll need to alter your favorite mining software...
    - Command-line and/or your GUI Miner to represent Solo-Mining

    Instead of listing a Pool when GPU Mining,
    -Replace the Pool with: localhost or 127.0.0.1 or 0.0.0.0
    -Port: 9999
    -Username:<match your .conf file rcpuser>
    -PSW:<match your .conf file rcppassword>

    --Then leave all other settings that work for you, as they are.

    - YOU SHOULD BE SOLO-MIING WITH YOUR GPUs NOW -

    NOTE: You can solo-mine with both CPU and GPU at the same time.
    ---------------------------------------------------------------

    3.3) (CPU) and (GPU) (remote) -Qt Wallet
    ----------------------------------------
    You'll need to alter your favorite mining software...
    - Command-line and/or your GUI Miner to represent, Remote Solo-Mining

    Instead of listing a Pool when Remote Mining,
    -Replace the Pool with:<the IP address of your remote DRK -QT Wallet> <what.ever.yours.is> 192.168.0.127 10.0.0.127
    -Port: 9999
    -Username:<match your .conf file rcpuser>
    -PSW:<match your .conf file rcppassword>

    --Then leave all other settings that work for you, as they are.

    - YOU SHOULD BE REMOTE SOLO-MIING WITH YOUR CPU and/or GPUs NOW -

    NOTE: To find the IP address of a local machine:
    - OPEN/RUN: CMD.exe
    - At the command promt TYPE: <ipconfig /all>
    - You will find you local machine IP here.
    -------------------------------------------

    ----------------------
    3.4) CONTROLLING THE CPU
    ----------------------

    3.4.1) CPU Afinity 1.0
    -----------------------
    Type this Command-Line to Mine all CPU cores: setgenerate true -1

    If you want to use a specific number of CPU cores,
    Or, if you experience lag - use this Command-Line or a variance....
    instead of -1, remove the (-) symbol and type number of core(s): setgenerate true 4
    (if you have an 8 core CPU, this will generally use 0-3, or 50% of CPU cores)

    NOTE: Helps for lag issues
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    3.4.2) CPU Afinity 2.0
    -----------------------
    You can also use the Task-Manager to set CPU Afinity
    OPEN: Task-Manager
    CLICK: Processes (tab)
    LOCATE: darkcoin-qt.exe*32
    RIGHT-CLICK: darkcoin-qt.exe*32
    - Small Menu pops up.
    CLICK: Set Afinity
    CLICK: Check-mark the CPU core(s) you wish to use
    CLICK: OK

    DarkCoin -Qt Wallet will only use the CPU core(s) you have assigned
    -------------------------------------------------------------------

    3.4.3) CPU Afinity 3.0
    --------------------
    With CPU Afinity, you use a combination of both forms.

    100%
    Console Command-Line to use all CPU cores: setgenerate true -1
    Leave the Task-Manager as it is.

    50% with 6 CPU cores
    Console Command-Line to use (3) CPU cores: setgenerate true 3
    Leave the Task-Manager as it is, or
    OPEN: Task-Manager and assign (3) of the (6) cores to be used by -Qt Wallet.

    I'm sure you can be very creative with CPU Afinity 3.0
    ------------------------------------------------------

    3.4.4) CPU - SET PRIORITY
    -----------------------
    When setting the Priority of the CPU,
    -Remember to set all -Qt Wallets the same or,
    --The -Qt Wallet with the highest priority will dominate the CPU usage.
    -Only set CPU Priority: LOW to HIGH - never use realtime

    OPEN: Task-Manager
    CLICK: Processes (tab)
    LOCATE: darkcoin-qt.exe*32
    RIGHT-CLICK: darkcoin-qt.exe*32
    - Small Menu pops up.
    CLICK: Set Priority
    -Remember to set all -Qt Wallets the same: LOW to HIGH - never use realtime
    --The -Qt Wallet with the highest priority will dominate the CPU usage.

    NOTE: CPU Priority can also assist with lag issues


    --------------------------------------------------
    BEWARE - Do not forget your Encryption PSW

    BEWARE - Do not delete your wallet.dat file

    ***AND BACK-UP wallet.dat FILE OFTEN***
    ---------------------------------------------------
    If this has helped you in any way...
    ...donations accepted but not required.
    -------------------------------------------------------
    STEP OUT OF THE LITE AND INTO THE DRK
    -------------------------------------------------------

    https://dashtalk.org/search/233808/...ate&c[title_only]=1&c[node]=3&c[user][0]=1612
    all 3 - click above
    [all need to be updated]
     
    #1 MangledBlue, Jul 7, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 25, 2016
    • Like Like x 6
  2. moli

    moli Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3,261
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Very cool... How come you never showed this thread to anyone? Nobody else has ever seen this! :p
     
  3. stonehedge

    stonehedge Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    333
    Trophy Points:
    233
    I know right? I really believe we should get this put into the GUI at some point. If you've got the CPU for it, why not use it?
     
  4. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,950
    Likes Received:
    6,730
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    you should post that under "Guides"!
    I had no idea this worked !
     
  5. Miner237

    Miner237 Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    223
    Trophy Points:
    213
    Nice guide, I was solo mining throughout june 2014 and earned about 20 DRK. It was tough though when net hash rate is over 100 gig you need patience.... For weeks i had nothing....
     
  6. acidburn

    acidburn Active Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    175
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I'm going to add 4 cores to my solo miner.
     
  7. MangledBlue

    MangledBlue Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Thx for the feedback :)
    Means a lot.

    Anybody want to help me finish my Dummies Guide to MasterNodes? :-D
     
  8. moli

    moli Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3,261
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Could you put in the links for Part 1 and 2 at the top? Thanks :)
     
  9. MangledBlue

    MangledBlue Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Once I get home from work I'll work on that
     
  10. daleaus

    daleaus New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I just get RPC call failed and it never connects with the same settings, I even tried setting up a differn't port in the config and minner... same thing
     
  11. thelazier

    thelazier Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    184
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Dash Address:
    Xreiza1qGJMT5BpW6BDtRJqwtcBSxGwWYN
    Since v12 wallet merged updated with bitcoin core, rpc/getwork is not available on wallet anymore. For solo miner, please use mining application which support rpc/getblocktemplate or create own mining pool or p2pool for support rpc/getwork to mining application.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  12. daleaus

    daleaus New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    3
    How do you use rpc/getblocktemplate to solo mine?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Wolf0

    Wolf0 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    58
    You write in support in SGMiner.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. MangledBlue

    MangledBlue Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Yes - I should up date this - sorry
    nobody realty knew about it for a long time....

    Might give me some thing to do one day soon :-D
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. frederik

    frederik New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Gnah... Have been hacking in my shell for like 4 days now to get solo mining working. Just to find out it does not work at all. *hahaha*
    Will have a look at p2pool. :)
     
  16. MangledBlue

    MangledBlue Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    183
    actually it does work


    dash-cli setgenerate true -1
    [all cpu cores]

    dash-cli setgenerate true 1
    [1 cpu core]

    dash-cli getmininginfo
    [to get mining status]

    dash-cli setgenerate false
    [stop mining]

    OR - use the CMD-line, in the wallet, by dropping the <dash-cli>
     
  17. frederik

    frederik New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    My i5 just generates at like 178khash/s.
    I would like to use my nvidia gtx970. But ccminer can't connect to the local server.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. MangledBlue

    MangledBlue Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    183
    been a minute since I used it but what are your settings?
     
  19. frederik

    frederik New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Dash Core version v0.12.0.55-c30a0aa (64-bit) on Xubuntu 15.04

    dash.conf
    server=1
    rpcuser=frederik
    rpcpassword=randompa55
    rpcallow=localhost as ip (sneaky url)
    rpcport=9998

    Curling localhost on that port tells me:
    {"result":null,"error":{"code":-32700,"message":"Parse error"},"id":null}


    ccminer jells
    [2015-10-20 16:37:17] Hypertext Transfer Protocol (sneaky URL) request failed: The requested URL returned error: 401
    [2015-10-20 16:37:17] json_rpc_call failed, retry after 30 seconds
     
  20. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    3,536
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    1. check your curl command
    2. 401 means "unauthorized" - check username/password
     
  21. frederik

    frederik New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ups my fault.
    This is the response I get. :)


    [2015-10-20 17:25:36] Hypertext Transfer Protocol (sneaky URL) request failed: The requested URL returned error: 404 Not Found
    [2015-10-20 17:25:36] json_rpc_call failed, retry after 30 seconds
     
  22. MangledBlue

    MangledBlue Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    183
    should be


    rpcallow=127.0.0.1 or 0.0.0.0 or localhost
    rpcport=9999
     
  23. frederik

    frederik New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    rpcport at 9999?

    Unable to bind to 0.0.0.0:9999 on this computer. Dash Core is probably already running.



    Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address Foreign Address State User Inode PID/Program name
    tcp 0 0 127.0.0.1:9999 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 1000 39558 9431/dash-qt
     
  24. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    3,536
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    nope, rpc port should be 9998, port 9999 is for p2p
     
    • Like Like x 1
  25. MangledBlue

    MangledBlue Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    183
    my bad...


    edit: it has been a minute :-D
     
  26. frederik

    frederik New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    But p2pool works like a charm. :)

    @github dashpay/p2pool-dash
     
    • Like Like x 1
  27. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,950
    Likes Received:
    6,730
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    MangledBlue
    is this solid and working ?

    ready to go onto the Wiki and such ??
    tx
    (i need an official ok, as i have no idea what all this mean :rolleyes:)

    Edit: where is 1 and 2 ?
     
  28. MangledBlue

    MangledBlue Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    183
    no
    this is not ready for the wiki - ha!

    This was written - more than a year ago - LOL - Just before I got my own MN - last year [2014] June
    so old - lol

    needs a LOT of revisions/updates.......



    https://dashtalk.org/search/233808/...ate&c[title_only]=1&c[node]=3&c[user][0]=1612
    all 3 - click above
     
    • Like Like x 1
  29. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,950
    Likes Received:
    6,730
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
  30. Larryg

    Larryg New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    -------------------------------------------------------

    https://dashtalk.org/search/233808/...ate&c[title_only]=1&c[node]=3&c[user][0]=1612
    all 3 - click above
    [all need to be updated][/QUOTE]


    If this thread is still active... can anyone tell me how to determine:
    A) if I'm mining, and
    B) at what rate, and
    C) how to determine mining activity, and
    D) how will I know if I solved a block.

    I think the instruction of "setgenerate true -1" worked, because I can see my CPU maxed at 100% (BTW... can the throttle the percentage dedicated to mining?). But I an't seem to figure out how to measure or track mining progress if in fact I am mining.

    Thanks...