• Forum has been upgraded, all links, images, etc are as they were. Please see Official Announcements for more information

How to run dash client on linux tails

wevifediku

How to run dash client on linux tails

I run tails from an USB with a persistent volume. How do I run dash from it?

I downloaded the dash file for linux, I get a TGZ file, but when I open the TGZ, nothing happens.
The tails system asks me with which application I want to open the files in the TGZ.

I am a linux noob. Please assist. Is there a download which I can click and open? I would like all my dash files in ONE folder, so I can back up everything (the blockchain and wallet) with one copy and paste.

The paper is 822 pages , OMG, is their not a simpler way? Just a folder I can download? Sorry for being a noob, but the paper is really a lot and complicated. Still i will study it, but I hope there is a file somehwere I can download and click. Why is it so difficult to run a wallet on linux? shouldn't be so complicated!!

i know - totally hear you - sorry
best is to study the ... (how do u call that) tree / beginning of doc / listing of all chapters ... u know what i mean and take it from there ;)

wallet on linux is no probs
download debian version from dash.org and boom

how to install
https://dashpay.atlassian.net/wiki/x/kIAc

This thread should help you too https://www.dash.org/forum/threads/linux-wallet-download-installation-guide.3901/
Note that:

so you need to extract files first and then use terminal to launch Dash wallet in Tails like any other cmd-line binary i.e. cd to its folder and then "./dash-qt"

I tried this in Tails, but it does not work. I tried this in Linux mint and it did work.
In tails it gives me an error, something like that there is no command.