Travis integration

Status
Not open for further replies.

flare

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 18, 2014
2,286
2,404
1,183
Germany
  • Like
Reactions: TaoOfSatoshi

flare

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 18, 2014
2,286
2,404
1,183
Germany
  • Like
Reactions: crowning

crowning

Well-known Member
May 29, 2014
1,415
1,997
183
Alpha Centauri Bc
I have at least enabled Travis building --> https://travis-ci.org/dashpay/dash

But we need to have a look at some failing tests :)
Thanks.

I guess ".travis.yml" needs some love. If I'd find some time next weekend I'll have a look.

Edit: yep, log says the tests are run which fail for Dash of course. The individual builds overwrite RUN_TESTS=false. Should be an easy fix. I'll do it later today.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

flare

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 18, 2014
2,286
2,404
1,183
Germany
Thanks.

I guess ".travis.yml" needs some love. If I'd find some time next weekend I'll have a look.

Edit: yep, log says the tests are run which fail for Dash of course. The individual builds overwrite RUN_TESTS=false. Should be an easy fix. I'll do it later today.
Disabling the tests is not a fix though :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: UdjinM6

crowning

Well-known Member
May 29, 2014
1,415
1,997
183
Alpha Centauri Bc
Almost there:

Clipboard01.jpg

I'll have another look later (or tomorrow) for the one failing build and create pull-requests once it's ready to merge.
 

flare

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 18, 2014
2,286
2,404
1,183
Germany

crowning

Well-known Member
May 29, 2014
1,415
1,997
183
Alpha Centauri Bc
Good stuff, but please keep in mind: disabling the tests is not a solution to the problem :)

We are already running testless builds on https://dashpay.atlassian.net/builds/allPlans.action
I know, but a first step must be to be able to replicate what Atlassian does, but automatically for each commit.

Fixing the tests for Dash is a different task, I think I had once start to fix some just to learn that it's not trivial to get all tests running.

BTW, Travis is not always reliable, I just re-run my repository-build and some builds failed (couldn't wget qrencode-3.4.3.tar.bz2, another build couldn't wget the Mac SDK, ...). Worked before without any problems...
 

flare

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 18, 2014
2,286
2,404
1,183
Germany
I know, but a first step must be to be able to replicate what Atlassian does, but automatically for each commit.

Fixing the tests for Dash is a different task, I think I had once start to fix some just to learn that it's not trivial to get all tests running.

BTW, Travis is not always reliable, I just re-run my repository-build and some builds failed (couldn't wget qrencode-3.4.3.tar.bz2, another build couldn't wget the Mac SDK, ...). Worked before without any problems...
I have found the root cause for the wget problems: wget on precise (which we are using on Travis) is outdated and not able to connect to SSLv3 enabled sites.

I have worked around this by using curl (see https://github.com/travis-ci/travis-ci/issues/5156)

So at least the testless ARM and MacOSX builds are green now, and I have made good progress on the failing tests for the other platforms - only 245 failing tests to go :)

upload_2016-1-27_14-44-23.png

We are getting there :)

upload_2016-1-27_15-4-52.png
 

crowning

Well-known Member
May 29, 2014
1,415
1,997
183
Alpha Centauri Bc
I have found the root cause for the wget problems: wget on precise (which we are using on Travis) is outdated and not able to connect to SSLv3 enabled sites.

I have worked around this by using curl (see https://github.com/travis-ci/travis-ci/issues/5156)

So at least the testless ARM and MacOSX builds are green now, and I have made good progress on the failing tests for the other platforms - only 245 failing tests to go :)
Very good
:)

I'll merge/add this to my own Travis-branch and see what else is needed.
 
  • Like
Reactions: flare

flare

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 18, 2014
2,286
2,404
1,183
Germany
Code:
if [ -n "$OSX_SDK" -a -f depends/sdk-sources/MacOSX${OSX_SDK}.sdk.tar.gz ]; then tar -C depends/SDKs -xf depends/sdk-sources/MacOSX${OSX_SDK}.sdk.tar.gz; fi

tar: This does not look like a tar archive
I can't access https://dash.org/depends-sources/sdks, so I don't know what's in there.
The path structure did not change, so https://dash.org/depends-sources/sdks/MacOSX10.7.sdk.tar.gz works

edit:

Down to 234 failures :)



https://travis-ci.org/dashpay/dash/jobs/105368611#L4806
 
Last edited by a moderator:

crowning

Well-known Member
May 29, 2014
1,415
1,997
183
Alpha Centauri Bc
Is Travis better than GitHub? Will you be using this now instead of GitHub?
Travis is an addition to GitHub, no replacement. You just have to assign a GitHub repository in Travis, and whenever new code is committed into your repository Travis automatically builds and tests it so you can easily see when something is broken without having to build it yourself all the time.

Saves us developers a ton of time.
 

TaoOfSatoshi

Grizzled Member
Jul 15, 2014
2,819
2,623
1,183
Dash Nation
www.dashnation.com
Travis is an addition to GitHub, no replacement. You just have to assign a GitHub repository in Travis, and whenever new code is committed into your repository Travis automatically builds and tests it so you can easily see when something is broken without having to build it yourself all the time.

Saves us developers a ton of time.
Oh that's great! Efficiency is good...
EDIT:
Woot!
https://twitter.com/taoofsatoshi/status/693578685648101377
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Status
Not open for further replies.