Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

Problems with Masternode (on rPi2)

Discussion in 'Masternode Questions and Help.' started by pin0de, Jan 30, 2016.

  1. pin0de

    pin0de New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hi, I followed the guide (unable to post link) to set up a MN on a new raspberry pi2.

    It was running fine for 2-3 days or so and then problems started after I had to shut it down to move it downstairs to my server room.

    Since I started it back up, everywhere I check I see that it's offline or has errors. (Like dashwhale, or Dashninja)
    At first it started up fine, and dashd is also running all the time when I check with top.
    I had started dashd again of course after moving it.
    When I noticed the problems I also started the masternode again in OS X dash core wallet, and then again on the pi.

    Here is what I see on the pi:

    ./dash-cli masternode debug
    Not capable masternode: Hot node, waiting for remote activation.

    grep HotCold .dash/debug.log
    2016-01-28 12:34:03 CActiveMasternode::EnableHotColdMasterNode() - Enabled! You may shut down the cold daemon.
    2016-01-29 14:03:14 CActiveMasternode::EnableHotColdMasterNode() - Enabled! You may shut down the cold daemon.


    Masternode incidents (from Dashwhale monitoring service:)
    This section shows a history of the critical incidents of your masternodes. Two types of incidents are covered:

    1. masternode dropped of the payment list
    2. no connection to DASH daemon (only available if remote monitoring has been enabled)

    Name Type Status Start/End Duration

    Masternode dropped of the payment list! open From 29-01-2016 21:20 up to now 21 hours

    Masternode dropped of the payment list! closed From 29-01-2016 19:46 to 29-01-2016 19:56 10 minutes

    Masternode dropped of the payment list! closed From 29-01-2016 04:24 to 29-01-2016 14:56 10 hours 32 minutes


    https :// dashninja. pl/mndetails.html?mnpubkey=XiHc6dJJCwpQqhrbntbmJwpCc4rsHViYXV
    (unable to post properly formattet link)


    I see unknown masternode now, but it was there before for a couple of days and inbetween.


    the log is so full, I don't know what entries are relevant, what I should be looking for.

    tail .dash/debug.log
    2016-01-30 02:59:55 mnb - Got NEW Masternode entry - 834b291cbd27bf1c2e3bd725eceb36ba243ba11bcafc53a978f55659df312118 - 82.211.21.167:9999 - CTxIn(COutPoint(059df1d50851848ccb4f4d44a3a7083d85e1c8d21eb10be508a159158b5a5314, 0), scriptSig=) - 1451483350
    2016-01-30 02:59:56 mnb - Rejected Masternode entry 104.156.253.102:9999
    2016-01-30 02:59:58 mnb - Got NEW Masternode entry - 5296d944827d7ecc1eca6076cc0e965ad01778c12a9dbc7d4377c09ccfb924f3 - 185.20.185.67:9999 - CTxIn(COutPoint(13d6eeeaee9f218200c25ffc163b4bad7e3e065f2babb3d7692a7e87cc1d72f4, 0), scriptSig=) - 1449208886
    2016-01-30 03:00:18 mnb - Got NEW Masternode entry - dfbe362c40cccb6e8c0a0d378082510c26dc266321a716903a971296186dd4a1 - 185.20.185.2:9999 - CTxIn(COutPoint(964f92294dea10d0809cb663deb0fa64d7876cb8e9232d031a9edddf92d5d13d, 0), scriptSig=) - 1453811891
    2016-01-30 03:00:22 mnb - Got NEW Masternode entry - 7050703a9fceb6ed50090288b46232c986baa7cb019a9216c1c22ce8414e168d - 185.20.185.75:9999 - CTxIn(COutPoint(9a343f26e889f7dc629a716836db1e018a620e1e0eb79741d70218e373265d0a, 1), scriptSig=) - 1449208888
    2016-01-30 03:00:24 CheckBlock() : skipping transaction locking checks
    2016-01-30 03:00:24 CheckBlock() : skipping transaction locking checks
    2016-01-30 03:00:24 CheckBlock() : skipping transaction locking checks
    2016-01-30 03:00:24 UpdateTip: new best=0000000000045747ab6901ec0264fcae38f76d046db0ffcf778eb114f5b253d4 height=411635 log2_work=62.060275 tx=1596595 date=2016-01-30 02:59:48 progress=0.999999 cache=3412
    2016-01-30 03:00:24 ProcessNewBlock : ACCEPTED



    maybe this? I found it when searching with grep CActiveMasternode .dash/debug.log

    2016-01-29 02:52:43 CActiveMasternode::SendMasternodePing() - Relay Masternode Ping vin = CTxIn(COutPoint(5490c1894605c548ae5541580aefb3df0609af6e5342e4ac56b21e50cbacf5cd, 1), scriptSig=)
    2016-01-29 02:58:08 CActiveMasternode::SendMasternodePing() - Relay Masternode Ping vin = CTxIn(COutPoint(5490c1894605c548ae5541580aefb3df0609af6e5342e4ac56b21e50cbacf5cd, 1), scriptSig=)
    2016-01-29 14:01:21 CActiveMasternode::ManageStatus() - not capable: Hot node, waiting for remote activation.
    2016-01-29 14:03:14 CActiveMasternode::EnableHotColdMasterNode() - Enabled! You may shut down the cold daemon.
    2016-01-29 14:06:24 CActiveMasternode::SendMasternodePing() - Relay Masternode Ping vin = CTxIn(COutPoint(5490c1894605c548ae5541580aefb3df0609af6e5342e4ac56b21e50cbacf5cd, 1), scriptSig=)
    2016-01-29 14:06:24 CActiveMasternode::ManageStatus() - Error on Ping: Darksend Masternode List doesn't include our Masternode, shutting down Masternode pinging service! CTxIn(COutPoint(5490c1894605c548ae5541580aefb3df0609af6e5342e4ac56b21e50cbacf5cd, 1), scriptSig=)
    2016-01-29 14:11:24 CActiveMasternode::ManageStatus() - not capable: Hot node, waiting for remote activation.
    2016-01-29 14:16:25 CActiveMasternode::ManageStatus() - not capable: Hot node, waiting for remote activation.
    2016-01-29 14:21:26 CActiveMasternode::ManageStatus() - not capable: Hot node, waiting for remote activation.



    I just tried to do masternode start in the dash core client console, and for the first time it came up with:

    Not capable masternode: Could not find suitable coins!

    The 1000 DASH are there though.

    Up until now I always got:
    Masternode successfully started
     
    #1 pin0de, Jan 30, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 30, 2016
    • Like Like x 1
  2. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,948
    Likes Received:
    6,731
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
  3. fuzzyduck

    fuzzyduck Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Silly question, but did the IP Adress of the Pi change after the move? If so, did you open port 9999 correctly?
     
  4. pin0de

    pin0de New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    18
    The IP remained the same (WAN and LAN)

    I am still looking for a solution.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. fuzzyduck

    fuzzyduck Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    93
    worst case: Run from scratch. It only takes a little while to reinstall the lot. I did that once. No clue what caused it not to run.

    Also: Be sure to make a SDcard Image on a desktop. So when sdcard crashes or you mess things up you can simply flash a running masternode back on a SDcard.

    EDIT: Wallet and node are on same version?
     
    #5 fuzzyduck, Jan 30, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 30, 2016
  6. orangecycle

    orangecycle Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    239
    Trophy Points:
    203
  7. pin0de

    pin0de New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Dash Core on OS X is v0.12.0.56-7154cdf

    ./dash-cli getinfo
    {
    "version" : 120056,
    "protocolversion" : 70103,
    "walletversion" : 61000,
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. pin0de

    pin0de New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I am not sure which IP address to use in this step, localhost, the LAN IP of the masternode or the public IP of the masternode?

    In the debug console, issue the command: addnode [ipaddress] onetry. For example addnode 127.0.0.1 onetry
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. orangecycle

    orangecycle Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    239
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Use the same IP address that you put into your dash.conf file.

    Also... are your blocks caught up on the masternode?
     
  10. pin0de

    pin0de New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    18
    ok I did addnode [masternode public IP] onetry in the Dash Core client console, but there was nothing returned on the following line,
    then I did masternode list-conf and I only got empty brackets like:

    {
    }

    the blocks on the masternode are at right now at 411910:
    ./dash-cli getinfo
    {
    "version" : 120056,
    "protocolversion" : 70103,
    "walletversion" : 61000,
    "balance" : 0.00000000,
    "darksend_balance" : 0.00000000,
    "blocks" : 411910,
    "timeoffset" : 0,
    "connections" : 13,
    "proxy" : "",
    "difficulty" : 5136.01084865,
    "testnet" : false,
    "keypoololdest" : 1453573711,
    "keypoolsize" : 1001,
    "paytxfee" : 0.00000000,
    "relayfee" : 0.00010000,
    "errors" : ""



    I checked we are up to block 411910
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. MangledBlue

    MangledBlue Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    183
    On my way to work - won't be much help....
    Looks like s/he is in good hands here...
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. orangecycle

    orangecycle Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    239
    Trophy Points:
    203
    If you aren't getting anything when you do masternode list-conf then try shutting down the QT and make sure your masternode.conf file is properly formatted. It seems your wallet isn't reading it. You can also try to delete the mncache.dat file. Open the QT again and let it sync with the network. Issue the command masternode list-conf and see if your masternode is output in the list.
     
    #12 orangecycle, Jan 30, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 30, 2016
  13. pin0de

    pin0de New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I closed the client, deleted the file, started the client again, waited, unlocked the wallet and tried it again, the masternode list-conf command still does not return anything.

    Thank you for trying to figure out whats wrong!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. orangecycle

    orangecycle Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    239
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Sounds like the wallet isn't reading your masternode.conf file. The formatting of the file is very precise. You should check to make sure the masternode.conf file formatting is correct.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. pin0de

    pin0de New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    18
    LOL, the guide I follwed (forum wont let me post the link at all)
    it does not even mention editing masternode.conf ..
    So I never put anything in that config file.
    Strange that the mn was running fine without it for 2-3 days .. :confused:

    I'm trying that now ..
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. pin0de

    pin0de New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thank you so much, it is running now after I added the details to masternode.conf :)

    Now I can wait for my first payment, I guess the days it ran already won't count now? I read something about going back to the end of the queue or something.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. MangledBlue

    MangledBlue Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    678
    Trophy Points:
    183
    This is correct....

    Glad to see you're up and running
     
  18. pin0de

    pin0de New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I hope it will continue to run this time :)

    The guide for setting up a masternode on a raspberry pi 2 that can be found on dashpay dot atlassian dot net slash wiki should be edited to include the masternode.conf.
     
  19. orangecycle

    orangecycle Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    239
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Happy to hear you got it running. As long as you can keep the PI and daemon running you should see a reward in the next 6 - 7 days.
     
  20. pin0de

    pin0de New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Until today my masternode was running perfectly. :)

    This morning we had a 5 minute power outage, very uncommon for us here in Germany.
    My masternode was of course offline again, all the same errors .. "Not capable masternode: Hot node, waiting for remote activation." ..

    Of course I had already forgotten how I fixed it last time, where I went to get help, lol .. no notes .. perfect, starting from scratch again and eventually reset my forum password here and found my old thread again.

    I tried things like removing peers.dat from my local wallet on OS X .. then .. no luck ..
    I tried the remote start as described here: https://blog.node40.com/how-to-conn...om-your-local-wallet-to-issue-a-remote-start/

    No luck with all of that ... then even though my public IP from cable provider has not changed in years ... I thought I better check .. damn , the public IP changed ..

    Now I edited the dash.conf file on OS X because thats the only place where I found my public IP hardcoded ..

    I managed to start the masternode, but strangely, it still thinks my public IP is the old one.
    https://dashninja.pl/mndetails.html?mnpubkey=XiHc6dJJCwpQqhrbntbmJwpCc4rsHViYXV
    On dashninja I can see the old IP as well, and the port check fails of course ...

    I check on the raspberry pi, the IP address is not in the config files on the node ... where is it?

    I can't find where the old IP is.

    If I do a masternode list-conf in the console of the client on OS X, I also see the old IP:










    {
    "masternode" : {
    "alias" : "mn1",
    "address" : "77.20.94.149:9999",
    "privateKey" : "removed",
    "txHash" : "removed",
    "outputIndex" : "1",
    "status" : "ENABLED"
    }
    }


    Where do I need to change it? And what steps to take after I changed it?

    Thank you!
     
  21. pin0de

    pin0de New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I think I finally found it in the masternode.conf file on OS X .. trying to restart everything to get it to recognize the change ...
     
  22. pin0de

    pin0de New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    18
    This masternode on my raspberry pi 2 has not been getting paid regularly at all recently. In the beginning it did get paid as often as my other node on vultr.

    The last 30 days however 3.9 DASH /2 payments only as opposed to the node on vultr that got paid 9.7 DASH /5 payments in the last 30 days.

    I don't know what could cause this?

    When I check the incident log on dashwhale, it shows that my masternode has been dropped off the payment list every day multiple times for several minutes ... I have got no idea why that would happen.


    Masternode dropped of the payment list! closed From 13-06-2016 05:34 to 13-06-2016 05:38 3 minutes
    Masternode dropped of the payment list! closed From 13-06-2016 04:04 to 13-06-2016 04:18 13 minutes
    Masternode dropped of the payment list! closed From 13-06-2016 02:48 to 13-06-2016 02:52 4 minutes
    Masternode dropped of the payment list! closed From 13-06-2016 00:04 to 13-06-2016 00:10 5 minutes
    Masternode dropped of the payment list! closed From 12-06-2016 22:24 to 12-06-2016 22:42 17 minutes
    Masternode dropped of the payment list! closed From 12-06-2016 21:08 to 12-06-2016 21:14 5 minutes
    Masternode dropped of the payment list! closed From 12-06-2016 19:52 to 12-06-2016 19:54 1 minute
    Masternode dropped of the payment list! closed From 12-06-2016 18:04 to 12-06-2016 18:26 21 minutes
    [... and so on, every day]

    It must be coming back every time without me doing anything, but this is causing it not get paid very often.
    Last time was 11 days ago for example.