• Forum has been upgraded, all links, images, etc are as they were. Please see Official Announcements for more information

Mining with renewable energy.

Status
Not open for further replies.

stan.distortion

I've little experience with mining but a fair amount with renewables, mainly wind power and storage methods and always interested in sharing what I've learned over the years and learning more. Anyone using renewables for there setups? I'd be interested in hearing some of the pitfalls and experiences. Cheers.

I'd love to know where to start. I have never actually moved in this direction because I suppose it might demand quite a big investment. Also, I have never been sure if it would be a lucrative activity.

But it has always attracted my attention, not only mining, but better, mining using renewable energy sources.

I have got the perfect place for it, a house in a city in the Northeast of Brazil (Natal), sunny and windy 365 days/year.

When I retire, I'll possibly set something like this:

images

93287.jpg

Sounds like an ideal spot :) As far as I can see the panels in the second pic are solar heating though, the best move you can make in terms of bang for your buck but not much good for running miners ;) You wouldn't get a whole lot from a turbine that size either but they're well worth experimenting with because they've often a far better return on investment time than bigger units and energy storage is far more manageable. That's an area often overlooked, you can have a serious surplus of power in high winds and even dumping it can be problematic and adequate storage can cost way more than the turbine its self.