• Forum has been upgraded, all links, images, etc are as they were. Please see Official Announcements for more information

Mining Newbie, Am I Doing This Correctly?

Anonymat

Hello all, I understand this has probably been asked before, for that I apologise. I'm usually very IT-literate but I have zero experience with mining. I had a look at pooling briefly but that went way over my head.

I found a guide at reviewoutlaw's website on how to mine. So, I've installed the miner it recommends (Simple CPU Miner). I've had it running on and off over the last few days (nothing sent to my wallet so far, but it does point out it can take time).
I understand that my laptop is nowhere near as powerful as would be ideal for this sort of thing, I'm doing it for fun really until I purchase something new for uni later this year.

I'm just curious about a few things:

a) Does this '(yay!!!) line mean it has accepted the preceeding hashes, does it mean that I wil lrecieve some fragments from that block, or the whole block, or nothing because the hashes are low? (They are usually anything up to 4000 hashes, at anything up to 8.5 khash/s, is this pitifully low?)

b) Does the 'stratum_upstream_work stratum_send_line failed...retry after 30 seconds' line mean it has given up on a block, if so for what reason, and does that mean I won't recieve any fragments for the work done prior to that failing?

c) Does the 'stratum connection interrupted' line and 'stratum_recv_line failed' line also mean that it has given up on the block it found?

I've tried finding a 'for dummies' guide to explain all this but found nothing that was all that helpful.
I figured a forum dedicated to this neat little coin would help me get some answers so I can actually understand what I'm reading on the miner log.