• Forum has been upgraded, all links, images, etc are as they were. Please see Official Announcements for more information

Message to receiver

DashICV

Hi I am very new to the Dash world.
I am try to Dash an amount to someone and I see the fields:
Pay To: for the address
Label: for a label in my address book.
Amount:

Is there a way to send a message (text) with the transaction so that the receiver will know what the dashed amount was for?
Or is this maybe something we have to await in Evolution :) ?

Thanks.

PS: I am using Dash Core Wallet v0.12.2.3

Hi there - this is not currently possible, although it could possibly be implemented since several other cryptocurrencies are testing messaging systems. There are some privacy considerations though - because blockchains are immutable, your message could potentially be read by everyone, forever unless some sort of asymmetric encryption is implemented. For now, it is possible to sign a message using the File > Sign message. If you include the transaction ID of the Dash you just sent and send the signed message to the recipient over another channel (email, chat, etc.) then the result is the same and privacy problem is resolved, or at least shifted to another system...

Great Stropy, thanks for the reply.
Just proves how new I am to this :rolleyes: didn't think of the privacy consideration if you would add it to the block chain.
Probably this will show my ignorance even more.
Would it theoretically be possible to encrypt the message and use the receivers public address so that only the receiver can decipher the message (having their private key)?