Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

"Masternode is Inactive" at the Dash Ninja

Discussion in 'Masternode Questions and Help.' started by raganius, Jan 31, 2019.

  1. raganius

    raganius cryptoPag.com
    Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    1,162
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Hi, one MN has been working fine for quite some time, but today it started becoming inactive. I restart it, but soon it goes back to inactivity.
    [​IMG]
    When I query
    dash-cli masternode status
    it returns "masternode successfully started"

    When I
    list full | grep IP
    it returns "ENABLED"

    Is it a problem with the VPS?
    [​IMG]
    I have downloaded and "updated again" the node at the vps before started. And had no error messages (I run sentinel.py and there's no message, as usual)

    I wonder what is going on?

    Thanks in advance for the help :)
     
  2. qwizzie

    qwizzie Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,515
    Likes Received:
    717
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Have you updated sentinel to v1.3.0 ?

    cd .dashcore
    cd sentinel
    git pull

    Do you have a cronjob running on sentinel and dashd ?

    crontab -e
    Check for following lines at the end of the file :
    (if not present then add them by choosing nano as your editor)

    * * * * * cd ~/.dashcore/sentinel && ./venv/bin/python bin/sentinel.py 2>&1 >> sentinel-cron.log
    * * * * pidof dashd || ~/.dashcore/dashd

    Press enter to make sure there is a blank line at the end of the file, then press Ctrl + X to close the editor and Y and Enter save the file.
     
    #2 qwizzie, Feb 1, 2019
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2019
    • Like Like x 1
  3. raganius

    raganius cryptoPag.com
    Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    1,162
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Hi, qwizzie, thanks.

    When I do the git pull at the sentinel I get the "Already up to date." as expected. Also, I've checked again, and crontab is set OK.

    This is a new node (it was working fine until yesterday, even received payment), I have used the same steps I've always used with all the other nodes I have been working with, never having had this kind of trouble.

    I am suspecting that this can be a problem caused by the VPS server - I use different VPS providers for each one of my nodes, and maybe this last one is finally one that is not delivering (?)... even though, it shouldn't be a problem, as I usually try to over dimension my nodes specs:
    [​IMG]
    The response to dash-cli masternode status is always "Masternode successfully started"

    I have restarted it locally about 3 times yesterday, it gets to "PRE-ENABLED", then to "ENABLED"... it is now (masternode list full) returning "ENABLED" from this same vps. But if I query it from a different node I get "NEW_START_REQUIRED..."

    I think I've done everything correctly. That is weird :/ If I am not able to make it work, I think I will hire another vps instance at some other provider and give this node a new life somewhere else.

    Has anyone had this kind of problem? Maybe you can help me figure out what is going on. Thanks :)
     
    #3 raganius, Feb 1, 2019
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2019
  4. qwizzie

    qwizzie Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,515
    Likes Received:
    717
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Last thing you can try is stop your wallet (make sure its not restarting automatically), delete your mnchache.dat & peers.dat files inside your Dash installation directory and then restart your wallet (and enable automatic restart again).
    For me this fixed a few false "NEW_START_REQUIRED" messages, due to a corrupt mnchache.dat file.

    The weird thing though is that your dashninja is reporting a sentinel problem (sentinel ping expired) on dmn01 & dmn03.
    Have you tried using dashninja from another machine (pc for example), to see if that gives different results ?
    Looking at your screenshot its almost like dashninja.pl itself is not working correctly / not synced correctly to its deamons...

    @udjinm6 : any advice ?
     
    #4 qwizzie, Feb 1, 2019
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2019
    • Like Like x 1
  5. raganius

    raganius cryptoPag.com
    Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    1,162
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Thank you again, qwizzie :)

    moocowmoo did his magic and the node is healthy again! It was caused by bad luck for this node during it's upgrade lol but now it is alive and running wel.

    Thanks!
     
    • Like Like x 2