Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

Expiring Text Messages ? (Double secure for the paranoid ; )

Discussion in 'Privacy News & Tools' started by tungfa, Sep 12, 2016.

  1. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,945
    Likes Received:
    6,731
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. Robinst

    Robinst Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2018
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    68
    I found out that more and more encrypted messengers started to erase message history in 24 hours and stopped to store it anywhere. From one point of view it's a big step to privacy, but on the other hand it's not very convenient as I need some conversations to be stored, but securely stored. For example work chat.
     
  3. Brokens

    Brokens Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2018
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    78
    So they delete everything automatically or I can set it somehow if I don't want some messages to be deleted?
    It's a very useful thing but I still want to save some conversations.
     
  4. Robinst

    Robinst Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2018
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    68
    In some of them you can choose the period of time. For example Dust erases everything in 24 hours.
    But it's not very useful as you probably can't choose the exact dialogues to erase or not.
     
  5. Brokens

    Brokens Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2018
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    78
    So Telegram also erases the story by itself? I thought that it stores it on a server.
     
  6. Robinst

    Robinst Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2018
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Telegram stores everything! I can tell you more - the developers have an access to all the information.
    Users can erase the story on their devices but it will be still stored on the server.
     
  7. Brokens

    Brokens Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2018
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    78
    That's why I asked that question as I was also sure it's like that. They collect literally EVERYTHING about all their users as they announced that they will pass information to 3rd parties if needed..
     
  8. rosita

    rosita Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2018
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    68
    In our conversations, these messages are deleted, but are they deleted on the servers?
    o_O
     
  9. Robinst

    Robinst Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2018
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Dust for example erases it everywhere and some others also, but I don't know if all the messengers do this.