Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

Do Masternodes really help to stabilize the price?

Discussion in 'Economy' started by moxx aka joe, Sep 4, 2017.

1. moxx aka joe

moxx aka joe New Member

I mean, the money in circulation isn't really affected by the DASH held back. So why should they stabilize the price?

2. tungfa

tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

it is all psychological
    u can sell your MN collateral anytime obviously - but when u have a MN up and running u will not sell only because of a rise / fall in price (and go through the whole "hustle" of setting MN up after again)
    if u have one up and running u will let it be and up and running
    and that obviously stabilises the price ;)

• Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 2
  3. Crypto Eric

Crypto Eric New Member

I think so yes. Now I am relatively new to how Dash functions as a DAO, but from what I understand from a simple economic perspective is that a Masternode costs 1,000 Dash (correct me if I'm wrong).

There are roughly 4,000 Masternodes. So 1000 x 4000 = 4,000,000, what this means is that there is 4 million Dash locked up in the Masternodes. This acts similarly to proof of stake from what I can tell. If there is roughly 7.6M Dash in existence right now, and 4 million of that 7.6 million is locked up in Masternodes, that would DEFINITELY stabilize the price. Which is what I've seen in Dash's history, a slower healthier rise.

Please correct any inconsistencies, I am still somewhat newish to Dash, I am here to learn!

#3 Crypto Eric, Nov 14, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2017
  4. kelvin

kelvin New Member