Dash v12.3 Release Announcement - available July 3rd

tungfa

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
Foundation Member
Masternode Owner/Operator
Apr 9, 2014
8,890
6,717
1,283
please double check your MN that you are on
12.3.1
Ver: 70210
!!
(there are a lot of other Versions listed on Dashninja)
+
don't forget to pull fresh sentinel (1.2.0, master branch)

 
Last edited:

drkrooster

Member
Dec 26, 2014
62
29
58
Malaysia
Are you running DashCore on Fedora, CentOS or RHEL using my RPMs? If so, everything has been updated for the new release at https://github.com/taw00/dashcore-rpm

Please note the upgrade instructions found here: https://github.com/taw00/dashcore-rpm/documentation Read: "Upgrading Major Versions: How to Upgrade from Version 12.2 to 12.3".

It's pretty trivial even though the written instructions are fairly pedantic (a few commands, and for masternode owners, a restart), but it is worth doing this correctly.

Disclaimer: My builds are not officially endorsed (unofficially endorsed?) by Dash Core Group, but I have been building them for years now without incident. And, of course, I eat my own dogfood.
https://github.com/taw00/dashcore-rpm/documentation
this link is not working

does the 0.12.3 MN work with current Dash Masternode tool with Trezor? Thank you
 

tungfa

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
Foundation Member
Masternode Owner/Operator
Apr 9, 2014
8,890
6,717
1,283
does the 0.12.3 MN work with current Dash Masternode tool with Trezor? Thank you
Yes
DMT v0.9.20
bertrand tested with 12.3 Nodes and all good to go :D
 
Apr 23, 2017
66
26
58
34
v.12.2.3 vs v.12.3.1 masternode efficiency comparison
I was just thinking, version 12.3 does not seem like its a major upgrade at all, but if that really how much it differs in resource requirements, that really is allot of difference.
I am assuming there is something else going on if not than Dash Core really dropped the ball on there press release, because the should write down something about a big performance boost, and maybe about scaling or something.
I don't mean to troll but I felt a bit embarrassed and underwhelmed, when reading the press release. Un the less do I am sure plenty has changed under the hood, but that doesn't get people excited.
 
  • Like
Reactions: pwjjrn

t0dd

Active Member
Mar 21, 2016
150
132
103
keybase.io
Dash Address
XyxQq4qgp9B53QWQgSqSxJb4xddhzk5Zhh
  • Like
Reactions: stan.distortion

AjM

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
Jun 23, 2014
1,335
571
283
Finland
I was just thinking, version 12.3 does not seem like its a major upgrade at all, but if that really how much it differs in resource requirements, that really is allot of difference.
I am assuming there is something else going on if not than Dash Core really dropped the ball on there press release, because the should write down something about a big performance boost, and maybe about scaling or something.
I don't mean to troll but I felt a bit embarrassed and underwhelmed, when reading the press release. Un the less do I am sure plenty has changed under the hood, but that doesn't get people excited.
Yep, but i'm glad devs can optimize code and system to faster and better every new release.
But after this i think that resource requirements will start to grow as evolution is coming after version 12.4.
 

nnx3

New Member
Apr 30, 2017
22
2
3
39
hi, I need start my masternode offline for better security, it will be possible? from new Dash_core ?...
pivx coin have function for start masternode offline and next relay as HEX online, but in new Dash console
such functions are missing.... or Im blind :D
 

revelations86

Member
Nov 12, 2016
58
20
48
33
By when is the deadline to upgrade? I have an MN which got paid earlier today. Should I upgrade now or wait until the next payout?
 

nmarley

Active Member
Jun 28, 2014
366
424
133
By when is the deadline to upgrade? I have an MN which got paid earlier today. Should I upgrade now or wait until the next payout?
I'd recommend upgrading ASAP. There's really no benefit for waiting if you just got a payout and if you wait too long you'll eventually get removed from the list once the right spork is turned on.

Better to do it now and be safe than sorry IMO.
 

qwizzie

Well-known Member
Aug 6, 2014
1,557
729
183
Thanks. I am now also getting "Masternode Sync Failed"
Stop your wallet and delete the dat files in your data directory (all dat files except your wallet.dat !!) and restart your wallet.
That fixed it for me.

Note : just to be clear, i'm talking about the dat files in your data directory, not any dat files inside folders inside your data directory

Edit : after you deleted your dat files and started your wallet, it may need another close and restart of your wallet as during the closing it will create those dat files you deleted again, which may help with the syncing
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: stan.distortion

IcyBud

New Member
Nov 9, 2017
12
1
3
38
Hello,
The MN is updated!
But i got an error in the make process - luckily after finishing the dashd

Where can i report the error?
[..]
test/alert_tests.cpp: In constructor ‘ReadAlerts::ReadAlerts()’:
test/alert_tests.cpp:112:40: error: ‘raw_tests’ has not been declared
[..]
 

tungfa

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
Foundation Member
Masternode Owner/Operator
Apr 9, 2014
8,890
6,717
1,283
@UdjinM6 posted on discord :

Friendly reminder to all MNOs: pls make sure to upgrade remote masternode AND local wallet (or DMT) before restarting your masternode. You *must* start it from _upgraded_ wallet (or via DMT with protocol 70210) or otherwise it won't activate. There are ~400 0.12.3.1/70208 (inactive) masternodes atm, make sure your MN is not one of them.
 

stan.distortion

Active Member
Oct 30, 2014
847
495
133
...

wut?

I still have no idea what it is, why I should care, and why time was spent making this thing that wasn't mentioned anywhere ever on any roadmap type thingy...

By the OP's description, it doesn't have anything to do with testing/testnet. And even if it does, why is it on mainnet?
Re: Firing up private testnets. I've not looked into that feature yet but it sounds similar to an idea mentioned by Greg Maxwell (in 2015 iirc, I'd first seen discussed in 2014) for testing developments in a live environment, the continuation of that being able to use those features on livenet in a sandboxed environment and then full integration if that goes well. That's pure guesswork on my part so maybe I'm way off the mark but it would create a very simple path for testing and integration of community developed features.
 

tungfa

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
Foundation Member
Masternode Owner/Operator
Apr 9, 2014
8,890
6,717
1,283
Last edited:

tungfa

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
Foundation Member
Masternode Owner/Operator
Apr 9, 2014
8,890
6,717
1,283
If you are any of these Listed Dash MN's - you ARE on the wrong VERSION !!
you need to be on 12.3.2 - Ver: 70210 !!!
The upcoming Sporks will kick you out of payment cycle soon !

Start MN from Updated DashCore Wallet (12.3) or use DMT (0.9.20) !!
 

brownbear

New Member
Feb 3, 2018
36
10
8
23
Hi! How do I upgrade my masternode?

* I think I already did this on my desktop.
* How do I do it for my VPS at VULTR?

Can anyone please send me a link or instructions, please? Thanks!!!
What's the deadline for this? I only found out about this like right now...
 

TaoOfSatoshi

Grizzled Member
Jul 15, 2014
2,797
2,614
1,183
Dash Nation
www.dashnation.com

brownbear

New Member
Feb 3, 2018
36
10
8
23
thanks buddy, I got it!

one problem though ... I accidentally jumped the gun and deleted dash-cli and dashd from .dashcore and added the new ones from 7/9/2018. *Then* I tried to stop it using the "./dash-cli stop" command.

that's when I get a message: permission denied...

What do you suggest I do now? thanks!
BB
 

TaoOfSatoshi

Grizzled Member
Jul 15, 2014
2,797
2,614
1,183
Dash Nation
www.dashnation.com
thanks buddy, I got it!

one problem though ... I accidentally jumped the gun and deleted dash-cli and dashd from .dashcore and added the new ones from 7/9/2018. *Then* I tried to stop it using the "./dash-cli stop" command.

that's when I get a message: permission denied...

What do you suggest I do now? thanks!
BB
chmod 777 ./dashd
chmod 777 ./dash-cli

...then try again.