• Forum has been upgraded, all links, images, etc are as they were. Please see Official Announcements for more information

Bitcoin fork and bitcoin cash and any impact on Dash

PNGento

In that I generally have to first own bitcoin in order to trade for DASH, I hope this topic is ok...I suspect others may have similar questions. First, I am new to cryptos and way behind on the learning curve. But, everything I have figured out tells me that crypto is the future. I also get that bitcoin has reached a point where it is laggy...I see that in my transactions. I understand that there are those who are looking for ways to breathe new life into BTC...hence the fork occurring on Aug 1. I also understand that others are not in favor of this fork. So, as best as I can tell, some are participating, others not (I guess this applies to both exchanges and wallets). I have some BTC on the Kraken exchange, and some in my Jaxx wallet. The former is participating...the latter is not (at least at this time as best as I can tell. My Jaxx wallet is also where I keep my Dash).

Anyway, Kraken tells me that I will be issued (I think they call it "credited") 1 bitcoin cash for each bitcoin I hold. It doesn't sound as if my bitcoin will be devalued simply because of being issued the bitcoin cash...but not to say the market might be very volatile (for the good or bad??), and that this could affect the value of my bitcoin.