• Forum has been upgraded, all links, images, etc are as they were. Please see Official Announcements for more information

Installing DASH Wallets on Linux (UBUNTU)

Toxic Trinity

Greetings all! Great to be part of the growing DASH phenomenon.

During past few days, I have made several unsuccessful attempts to install both the Dash Core Wallet AND the Electrum Dash wallet.

I have installed applications in Linux before. So I am not a novice.

Therefore I am confident there are serious issues with the installation of these two wallets into a Linux distribution. Can anyone else concur?

Note that I have completed an MD5 checksum check. No problems. So I know I have a 'clean' download file.

I do not want to try and force an installation using my Synaptic Package Manager; nor do I want to be overly clever by trying out a few arcane Linux functions to try and force the issue.

I think you will agree ... both of these Wallet options should have already been configured and tested so that Users can smoothly install the one of their choice, without having to "jump through any hoops".

Currently, the DASH Official Website points to a set of YouTube videos that explain the install procedures for the Dash Core Wallet.

Unfortunately, the version that describes the installation of the Linux Core Wallet is almost 1 year out of date. In other words, it is not consistent with the file (tar.gz) now being offered for download.

When I attempt to follow this video to a tee, then I at first find that my downloaded tar.gz does not contain both the 32 bit + 64 bit folders. No technical problem there, but this minor discrepancy with the video does help to show the video guide is too out of date! More recent work has superseded it.

Following on with this short Video Guide ... I then find my dash-qt file does NOT display as a Diamond after I have unpacked it to my Desktop (as instructed by the Video).