• Forum has been upgraded, all links, images, etc are as they were. Please see Official Announcements for more information

v0.10.13.x RC5 Testing

Status
Not open for further replies.
i see the completion bar as a battery charger .. at 100% it will be fully charged but you can also stop the charging by removing the battery.

Same with the completion bar, you see the completion progress towards the amount of Darkcoin to anonymized & the rounds and right below you will
even see how much that completion progress exactly means in terms of amount anonymized.
Pressing the stop button will stop the process but lets you keep the build up anonymized coins.

We just need to inform people that pressing the stop button just stops further anonymization.

Another user interface concern from my side (please note that I am an industry expert in user interface and design).

I think the use of a progress bar to indicate how many coins have been anonymized is misleading to new users.

Progress bars are usually used to indicate the progress of a download, installation or file transfer. The main goal is to reach 100%. If progress bar does not reach 100%, the operation will be useless in all cases.

With darksend+ this is not the case; anonimizing 30% of your coins and then stopping could be a useful operation depending on the user's needs and intentions. It is not the main goal to reach 100%, or at least, not always.

I'm worried that the user will think he has to anonimize 100% of coins in order to have a successful operation, due to the use of a progress bar which I think is a misleading control in this case as it will be associated with common uses. It is arguably even a wrong use of this control, but I'm not sure of that. Percentage is a secondary type of information in this case, but it is presented as primary due to use of control.