• Forum has been upgraded, all links, images, etc are as they were. Please see Official Announcements for more information

Noob needing some help

joetoe

I am new to mining in general and to x11 mining I have been going about a week now. Can anyone help me in setting up a proper config file and some basic settings to get me going better than I am?

My basics:
Windows 7 64-bit
GPU:
Ati HD5450 w/14.6 drivers and 2.9 APP SDK using sgminer v5.1 (says win32 is there even a 64 for this)

CPU:
intel Pentium D 2.8 using cpuminer 1.2c

I know I wont break any speed records with any of this hardware but am trying to use it as a starting point to get familiar with x11( sha-256 seemed more just plug and play for mining, but a waste without ASIC)

My biggest issue I would like to think is setting up a proper config file. I have several sg miners I have downloaded: 5.1 and also sph-sgminer x11 mod and sph-sgminer x11mod b2. All seem to have very different configs in them with all sorts of settings some have the same while others have only a few.

I just want to wet up a basic config for a single p2pool with good starting settings for my gpu and have it be consistent in its hash rate. I have been getting around 50-90 kh/s with this card(is that low? I would like to think so lol)

any help would be super awesome thanks in advance.

Oh and one other thing I find curious, when I first started using sgminer I could adjust my memory and engine speeds, but today for whatever reason its not letting me?

Last edited by a moderator:
soooo spent some time away from dash mining scrypt with a few asic's and got bored so came on back lol. I had a little cash sitting and got an r7 360 to play with. Currently mining on a p2pool hashing around 2.05-2.25mh/s. anyone know if thats about all I can squeak out of it safely or can I get more out of it? oh and using sph-sgminer_x11mod with the x11mod kernal. any suggestions would be appreciated....