• Forum has been upgraded, all links, images, etc are as they were. Please see Official Announcements for more information

Pre-Proposal: Reimburse the Dash Piper

Poll: How do you feel about the Dash Piper?

• I love it! I'll vote to reimburse him and I want him coming back to future events!

Votes: 1 12.5%
  • Bagpipes are awesome. I don't think it jibes well at Dash events but I'll vote for reimbursement.

• I like bagpipes but don't think it should come out of the budget. No reimbursement.

Votes: 5 62.5%
  • They're supposed to sound good? Bagpipes sound like squeezing a cat in a bag! (No reimbursement)

• Total voters

Jmmon

Hello! I'm Joe, the Dash Piper. I've been playing bagpipes for over 9 years. If you went to the Dash open house at Skysong at ASU you might've seen me play after the event. I piped outside the building entrance in my kilt and my Dash shirt for people to watch and listen as they filtered out of the open house and headed to McFate's. People loved it! I played off and on over about an hour near the end of the event. My total play time was 25-30min in that hour.

I don't live nearby. I wasn't planning on going to the open house until I asked if I could play bagpipes for the event. I was in the piping mood after playing 20+ performances for St. Patrick's Day and so I floated the idea to Pete and he liked it. So my brother and I made the (long) drive down from Spokane, WA , 1381 miles away. I had a blast meeting all the people that came and I plan on making it to many future Dash events, bagpipes or no!

Costs:
Gas: 1392 miles * 2 / 26mpg * ~$2.46/gal = $263.41
Wear and tear approximation (8.5 cents/mile*): $234.77
Motel: $84.40
Performance: $155

Subtotal: $737.58
@$66.93 (4/12/2017): 11 Dash

Proposal fee: 5 Dash

Total: 16 Dash

Please ask any questions you have!

*Wear and tear approximation from reading a couple forum posts:
community.cartalk dot com/t/how-to-calculate-wear-and-tear-on-car/9998/3