• Forum has been upgraded, all links, images, etc are as they were. Please see Official Announcements for more information

HD crashed, lost Dash Core

Nils

He guys,

yes I admit I made a mistake :(, but at that time I was a newbie, actually I'm still a newbie

My laptop HD crashed a while ago, so I lost Dash Core with my Dash. The wallet was not encrypted.

I could get the hashes and the addresses on the Exchange where I bought them. Is there any way to get them back some how.

Thank you
Nils

@Nils
No, you need those addresses' private keys. They reside in the wallet.dat file that was in your HD and that you should have backed up.

There are services that can try and rescue data from crashed hdd. If that wallet had more than such recovery would cost you - probably a good idea to try.

Thanks, actually it is what I thought. I will try to recover the HD and see if I can get back those Dash. Considering the today value, the wallet has much more than the recovery cost. Let's say that my cold storage method is pretty good, nobody can get my Dash, not even me. Thanks again

He guys,

yes I admit I made a mistake :(, but at that time I was a newbie, actually I'm still a newbie

My laptop HD crashed a while ago, so I lost Dash Core with my Dash. The wallet was not encrypted.

I could get the hashes and the addresses on the Exchange where I bought them. Is there any way to get them back some how.

Thank you
Nils

Also,

You can use a trezor and that way you won't have this issue again.

http://trezor.io

It supports btc, Dash, and Zcash at the moment.

Hi,

To get the lost stuff back from hard drive you can try free data recovery software.

Hope this will work for you!!

To get the lost stuff back from hard drive you can try free data recovery software.