• Forum has been upgraded, all links, images, etc are as they were. Please see Official Announcements for more information

While Encrypting Wallet, Dash Core Froze. I Force Quit, Security Question

stellabelle

While I was encrypting my wallet on macbook pro, Dash Core program became unresponsive and froze up. I then force quit, uninstalled the Dash Core wallet, put it in trash, downloaded it again, started over, thinking that I would re-enter the passphrase.

I was shocked to discover that the newest Dash Core I just downloaded had retained my encryption password, and the passphrase works. My question is, because I force quit while the encryption process was going, I never got the normal windows saying that the encryption was complete. I am now worried that something might be wrong since I force quit after my computer froze up. Everything seems to be working ok, but since I'm not a computer expert, I am unsure if my wallet is set up properly. Any advice would be welcome.

Did this happen because my wallet address is tied to my IP address??????

It is the wallet.dat itself which is encrypted not the software that you download from the website. That is why your wallet was still encrypted and the passphrase unchanged even after you re-downloaded the software.

Secondly, the wallet is probably fine as... but if you want to be 100% sure about the fidelity of the wallet, in other words eliminate any possibility of corruption, then you can do the following:

1) Send the funds to another wallet you own (on a different device)

2) Close the wallet on your mac

3) Move (not copy) the wallet.dat to a different location (i.e. your mac's desktop)

4) Reopen the mac wallet software (new wallet.dat will be created)

5) Encrypt the empty wallet.dat on your mac (for safety in case it freezes again)

6) If everything looks good then send the funds back to the mac from the other device.

7) After you backup the new mac wallet.dat you can delete the old one on the desktop.