Tao suggested I post here... 0.05 BTC bounty offered for resolution to my masternode issue !

MoreBloodWine

New Member
Jul 19, 2015
26
1
3
Ok, so here's my issue which is taken from the DASH bitcointalk thread: topic=421615.msg11913461#msg11913461

I dable in dash trying to learn as much as I can about it before gets getting to serious with it but I am curious if someone can maybe help me with something relating to the "new" Gorilla Bucks (BUCKS) which has masternodes based of off bananabits which I assume is based on DASH.

If anyone can or is willing to help great and if not, Thx ne way.

The below is a copy of a PM I sent to someone else that doesn't seem able to help with possibly resolving the "issue".

Cool.

This is the original guide I followed to set up two remote nodes / bands with two cold / locked local wallets which is currently working pretty flawlessly using the start n stop commands etc.

https://dashtalk.org/threads/taos-masternode-setup-guide-for-dummies.2680/

This is the guide I'm trying to use to control both remote nodes / bands with one local cold / locked wallet using option B (Consolidation - transfer several "old" wallets into one new wallet.).

https://dashtalk.org/threads/reuben...rnodes-from-one-wallet-guide-start-many.4034/

I've followed both guides to a T with the first one succeeding and just failing on the latest one where I am trying to use the the one local to control multiple remotes. At one point someone suggested IGotSpots mighta done something to fault masternode.conf but he said it "should" be able to work even though it's not needed hinting the way he has the easy band setup is the way to go but not quite ideal for some people such as myself.

But ya, if you check out the linked post you'll see where I mention I get expected outputs with "masternode outputs" but when running "masternode list-conf" I get nothing where I should be seeing the info from masternode.conf parsed in the console and not just seeing {} or w/e it is.

Even when I use start or start-many nothing "starts" since the systems for all intensive purposes sees the masternode.conf file as empty.

Ty BTW.
So now that that's out of the way, here's what my masternode.conf file looks like. Only guide not linked is the last one I found where it was said that a donation address can be used to have the MN payments sent.

GorillaBand1 <IP:11839> <MN PRIV KEY> <TX HASH> 1 <donation address>
GorillaBand2 <IP:11840> <MN PRIV KEY> <TX HASH> 1 <donation address>

Ps; While I cannot offer a bounty in DASH, I can offer one in BUCKS if it helps entice someones assistance, Ty.

Edit: I suspect just getting / figuring out why "masternode list-conf" doesn't output the stuff in my masternode.conf file is the only thing we'll need to figure out since when using something like start many should start the nodes otherwise found in the masternode.conf file even though that's only 2 for me right now.
GorillaBucks.conf
rpcuser=<user>
rpcpassword=<pass>
rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
listen=0
server=1
daemon=1
logtimestamps=1
port=11839
staking=0
maxconnections=9999
masternode.conf
GorillaBand1 45.63.18.81:11839 <MN KEY> 4c3db17952e0cd742b5e297b906309ce1f6bb252e3104223b1789c24cabffa75 1 BBFNytsouQsskUzmspDWs2k3KPEqxQPbi5
GorillaBand2 45.63.19.64:11839 <MN KEY> cb2caffd895f5cb37d940bbd5c1b9b552c3cb01fa8ab232eb1fc2ef0080dc1eb 1 BBFNytsouQsskUzmspDWs2k3KPEqxQPbi5
 

TaoOfSatoshi

Grizzled Member
Jul 15, 2014
2,804
2,616
1,183
Dash Nation
www.dashnation.com
Cool, I'm glad you posted here. Maybe someone with more expertise than myself can help you. You have been respectful in your postings, and it is Dash related tech.

UdjinM6, could you perhaps spare a couple of minutes to help? It looks good on us to be mindful of our crypto brethren.

Cheers!
 

MoreBloodWine

New Member
Jul 19, 2015
26
1
3
From what I can tell this seems to be the tree...

DASH > BananaBits > BUCKS

But ya, from what little I have found, even if the tree of growth is wrong in the MN sense. Best I can tell is that BUCKS whole masternode code belongs to DASH or most of it anyway.

But ya, would love to get this solved.

As previously stated using your guides, I can start two remote nodes with two local wallets. Just having the issue of trying to combine the two locals to one local using your option B.

That said, regardless of options used because I have done A as well, masternode outputs always displays fine but masternode list-conf never reads / outputs the data in the masternode.conf file.

FWIW, Tao asked this in the DASH thread to which I replied. Yes I am on Windows with local and yes I am sure masternode.conf is a CONF type file,
 

moli

Grizzled Member
Aug 5, 2014
3,255
1,830
1,183
Ok, so here's my issue which is taken from the DASH bitcointalk thread: topic=421615.msg11913461#msg11913461



GorillaBucks.conf


masternode.conf
One thing i can see is it should be (per Udjin's correction on another post and as I've learned it from other people..):
rpcport=11839
 

UdjinM6

Official Dash Dev
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 20, 2014
3,637
3,536
1,183
Welcome,

Now that's a proper place. ;)

Had a quick look at gorilla code and your config is ok (even though there is no donation support in this coin but it will be just ignored by code).
There's an obvious bug in gorilla code, ask your developer to fix it - wallet should actually read config file (which it doesn't now).

PS. btw looks like it's also a crave clone somehow

PPS. drop it and switch to Dash :cool:

EDIT: and no, there was no such bug in Dash
 

MoreBloodWine

New Member
Jul 19, 2015
26
1
3
AFAIK, that doesn't matter as the masternode.conf file is what's currently having the issue. As the RPC info isn't even really used I feel confident in saying the rpcport=x isn't even needed. The reason I use port is because the default is something like 36482 and I want 11839.
 

MoreBloodWine

New Member
Jul 19, 2015
26
1
3
Welcome,

Now that's a proper place. ;)

Had a quick look at gorilla code and your config is ok (even though there is no donation support in this coin but it will be just ignored by code).
There's an obvious bug in gorilla code, ask your developer to fix it - wallet should actually read config file (which it doesn't now).

PS. btw looks like it's also a crave clone somehow

PPS. drop it and switch to DASH :cool:
Can't tell him to fix something if I don't know what's wrong, as for donation support. If it's not already included then chances are it never will be unless it's somehow "easily added" then MAYBE I could do it myself lol.
 

UdjinM6

Official Dash Dev
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 20, 2014
3,637
3,536
1,183
Can't tell him to fix something if I don't know what's wrong, as for donation support. If it's not already included then chances are it never will be unless it's somehow "easily added" then MAYBE I could do it myself lol.
Err.. I might not said it clear enough though I tried. Anyway...
It's not a donation support, wallet should basically read config file to be able to display anything.
Like this:
Code:
// parse masternode.conf
std::string strErr;
if(!masternodeConfig.read(strErr)) {
    fprintf(stderr,"Error reading masternode configuration file: %s\n", strErr.c_str());
    return false;
}
https://github.com/dashpay/dash/blob/master/src/dashd.cpp#L89-L94
 

MoreBloodWine

New Member
Jul 19, 2015
26
1
3
I understood it's not a donation type wallet.

I was referring to the "should read but doesn't now" comment which I suspect is what you just posted above should otherwise solve. That being said, if IGotSpots is otherwise hesitant for some reason or "too busy". Could said changed be made by someone like me should full instructions be given / found somewhere ? I ask this because I know how and have already compiled d files from the main github files.

Assuming it wouldnt somehow invalidate the client from working on the BUCKS chain.
 

moli

Grizzled Member
Aug 5, 2014
3,255
1,830
1,183
Hey bro, switch to Dash, we have an amazing dev team and a wonderful, fun, dynamic, feisty, and sometimes pissy community here. So why don't you join us and drop the gorilla? lol

:D:rolleyes::D:oops::D
 
  • Like
Reactions: TaoOfSatoshi

MoreBloodWine

New Member
Jul 19, 2015
26
1
3
Hey bro, switch to Dash, we have an amazing dev team and a wonderful, fun, dynamic, feisty, and sometimes pissy community here. So why don't you join us and drop the gorilla? lol

:D:rolleyes::D:oops::D
Right now one DASH MN is at a cost of ~11BTC so ya... that wont be happening for a loooooooooooooooooooooong while if at all.
 

tungfa

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
Foundation Member
Masternode Owner/Operator
Apr 9, 2014
8,902
6,729
1,283
http://www.gorillastake.com/gorillabands/
Quote
The longer a node is online, verifying blocks and transactions, the more BUCKS it will be eligible for. GorillaBands are rewarded for this work and time by receiving 50% of the staked coins across the network. This ensures the coins used for setup are replaced as soon as possible without creating additional inflation or incentives that are too low to make it worth it. At only 5000 GorillaBucks per GorillaBand, setting one up will be accessible to nearly anyone who wants one

Setting up your first GorillaBand only takes a few clicks. Rather than use confusing, often failing, masternode systems that require manual configuration, GorillaBucks has integrated the one-click GorillaBand setup for ease of use!

1 click MN
good luck with that security :eek:
 

MoreBloodWine

New Member
Jul 19, 2015
26
1
3
Quote
The longer a node is online, verifying blocks and transactions, the more BUCKS it will be eligible for. GorillaBands are rewarded for this work and time by receiving 50% of the staked coins across the network. This ensures the coins used for setup are replaced as soon as possible without creating additional inflation or incentives that are too low to make it worth it. At only 5000 GorillaBucks per GorillaBand, setting one up will be accessible to nearly anyone who wants one

Setting up your first GorillaBand only takes a few clicks. Rather than use confusing, often failing, masternode systems that require manual configuration, GorillaBucks has integrated the one-click GorillaBand setup for ease of use!

1 click MN
good luck with that security :eek:
One reason I'm trying to do it manually. As for the file UdjinM6 linked, dashd.cpp... I had a look at the src files for GB and it goes from eckey.h to hash.cpp.... not a single gorillabucksd.cpp file lol so ya, looks like I will need IGS to help if he's feeling generous.
 

UdjinM6

Official Dash Dev
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 20, 2014
3,637
3,536
1,183
I understood it's not a donation type wallet.

I was referring to the "should read but doesn't now" comment which I suspect is what you just posted above should otherwise solve. That being said, if IGotSpots is otherwise hesitant for some reason or "too busy". Could said changed be made by someone like me should full instructions be given / found somewhere ? I ask this because I know how and have already compiled d files from the main github files.

Assuming it wouldnt somehow invalidate the client from working on the BUCKS chain.
Ah, ok.

As for code changes - sure it can be done. Easy way: compare bitcoind.cpp in gorilla and dashd.cpp in Dash, add missing
Code:
#include "masternodeconfig.h"
and the code above to corresponding places and recompile. 2 minutes to fix :)
 

moli

Grizzled Member
Aug 5, 2014
3,255
1,830
1,183
MoreBloodWine - see how awesome Udjin is? Don't waste your time, invest in excellent devs... that error is just nothing... if a dev can't read code like reading a soft porn novel... he can't code.

But Dash devs do read code like that!! :D:D:D
 
  • Like
Reactions: TaoOfSatoshi

MoreBloodWine

New Member
Jul 19, 2015
26
1
3
MoreBloodWine - see how awesome Udjin is? Don't waste your time, invest in excellent devs... that error is just nothing... if a dev can't read code like reading a soft porn novel... he can't code.

But Dash devs do read code like that!! :D:D:D
You litterally made me LOL

if your gonna do porn novels may as well go full hog and FWIW, I do dabble in DASH. That being besides the point, I'd never for a long while any way even be able to afford a single DASH MN at it's current costs. At least this way with me getting dirty in BUCKS code it is more of a prep to really get in to DASH.

Also, ignore my last reply about no gorillabucksd.cpp file as Udjin pointed out it's bitcoind.cpp

So with that said: UdjinM6 --- While I am confident enough to compare dashd.cpp and bitcoind.cpp and adding #include "masternodeconfig.h" to what looks like the right spot. The rest of what you said may be where I fail as you said and I quote...

and the code above to corresponding places and recompile. 2 minutes to fix :)

I wouldnt know what those corresponding places are.
 
  • Like
Reactions: moli

tungfa

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
Foundation Member
Masternode Owner/Operator
Apr 9, 2014
8,902
6,729
1,283
i am not sure about that soft porn reference .... ;)
Masternodes /Investment need security !
it will not help you if that guy promises great returns and cheap coins, if you will eventually lose all due to no/or crap security hence a hack attack
 

moli

Grizzled Member
Aug 5, 2014
3,255
1,830
1,183
Are you sure you don't want to join the Dash Twitter PR Initiative? We could use another promoter with your skillz... :rolleyes::D:cool:
Haha... the answer is still No, thanks you! :)
But I would love to learn to write a soft pr0n novel for Dash .. lol
 
  • Like
Reactions: TaoOfSatoshi

UdjinM6

Official Dash Dev
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 20, 2014
3,637
3,536
1,183
You litterally made me LOL

if your gonna do porn novels may as well go full hog and FWIW, I do dabble in DASH. That being besides the point, I'd never for a long while any way even be able to afford a single DASH MN at it's current costs. At least this way with me getting dirty in BUCKS code it is more of a prep to really get in to DASH.

Also, ignore my last reply about no gorillabucksd.cpp file as Udjin pointed out it's bitcoind.cpp

So with that said: UdjinM6 --- While I am confident enough to compare dashd.cpp and bitcoind.cpp and adding #include "masternodeconfig.h" to what looks like the right spot. The rest of what you said may be where I fail as you said and I quote...

and the code above to corresponding places and recompile. 2 minutes to fix :)

I wouldnt know what those corresponding places are.
"include ... " goes here https://github.com/iGotSpots/GorillaBucks/blob/master/src/bitcoind.cpp#L10

And that is a good place to insert code quoted above https://github.com/iGotSpots/GorillaBucks/blob/master/src/bitcoind.cpp#L65
 

MoreBloodWine

New Member
Jul 19, 2015
26
1
3
"include ... " goes here

And that is a good place to insert code quoted above
So both sets of code only have one include and can go at the top of the file where the #include "masternodeconfig.h" should be anyway ?

Also the not posting / quoting links thing is somewhat annoying lol

Edit: I also just had a shit moment, I have to compile qt lol
 

UdjinM6

Official Dash Dev
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 20, 2014
3,637
3,536
1,183
So both sets of code only have one include and can go at the top of the file where the #include "masternodeconfig.h" should be anyway ?
Code:
diff --git a/src/bitcoind.cpp b/src/bitcoind.cpp
index da5490a..a61fd83 100644
--- a/src/bitcoind.cpp
+++ b/src/bitcoind.cpp
@@ -7,6 +7,7 @@
#include "rpcclient.h"
#include "init.h"
#include <boost/algorithm/string/predicate.hpp>
+#include "masternodeconfig.h"

void WaitForShutdown(boost::thread_group* threadGroup)
{
@@ -63,6 +64,13 @@ bool AppInit(int argc, char* argv[])
             return false;
         }

+        // parse masternode.conf
+        std::string strErr;
+        if(!masternodeConfig.read(strErr)) {
+            fprintf(stderr,"Error reading masternode configuration file: %s\n", strErr.c_str());
+            return false;
+        }
+
         // Command-line RPC
         for (int i = 1; i < argc; i++)
             if (!IsSwitchChar(argv[i][0]) && !boost::algorithm::istarts_with(argv[i], "GorillaBucks:"))
Also the not posting / quoting links thing is somewhat annoying lol
That's anti-spam protection - new accounts can't post links. Will "fix" itself after a while.
 

MoreBloodWine

New Member
Jul 19, 2015
26
1
3
Code:
diff --git a/src/bitcoind.cpp b/src/bitcoind.cpp
index da5490a..a61fd83 100644
--- a/src/bitcoind.cpp
+++ b/src/bitcoind.cpp
@@ -7,6 +7,7 @@
#include "rpcclient.h"
#include "init.h"
#include <boost/algorithm/string/predicate.hpp>
+#include "masternodeconfig.h"

void WaitForShutdown(boost::thread_group* threadGroup)
{
@@ -63,6 +64,13 @@ bool AppInit(int argc, char* argv[])
             return false;
         }

+        // parse masternode.conf
+        std::string strErr;
+        if(!masternodeConfig.read(strErr)) {
+            fprintf(stderr,"Error reading masternode configuration file: %s\n", strErr.c_str());
+            return false;
+        }
+
         // Command-line RPC
         for (int i = 1; i < argc; i++)
             if (!IsSwitchChar(argv[i][0]) && !boost::algorithm::istarts_with(argv[i], "GorillaBucks:"))

That's anti-spam protection - new accounts can't post links. Will "fix" itself after a while.
Now your confusin me lol... @@ -63,6 +64,13 @@ bool isn't even in dashd.cpp or bitcoind.cpp from GorillaBucks... so while yes I know with 100% certainty where #include "masternodeconfig.h" goes... I'm completely dumbfounded on where to put this...

  1. // parse masternode.conf
  2. std::string strErr;
  3. if(!masternodeConfig.read(strErr)) {
  4. fprintf(stderr,"Error reading masternode configuration file: %s\n", strErr.c_str());
  5. return false;
  6. }

In the bitcoind.cpp file from GorillaBucks.

Also, // Command-line RPC is already on line 66 in bitcoind.cpp... so hope u see my confusion to some extent.