RC4 issues, bugs & feature requests

Status
Not open for further replies.

flare

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 18, 2014
2,286
2,404
1,183
Germany
Dear community,

RC4 is live. I therefore created a new thread to discuss issues, bugs & feature requests with RC4 in mainnet.

If you think you found a bug, feel free to use our bugtracker to report it --> http://jira.darkcoin.qa

If you are not sure if it's a bug or you want to discuss your feature requests, feel free to discuss them here.


============================================================================


These are the latest CI-builds

CI-builds for v0.9.12.32-g70ab70d

Windows 32bit:
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/DWD-DRK/QTL/build-109/gitian-win-darkcoin-bin/32/darkcoin-qt.exe
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/...tian-win-darkcoin-bin/32/daemon/darkcoind.exe
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/...oin-bin/32/darkcoin-0.9.12.32-win32-setup.exe

Mac OS X:
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/browse/DOD-DRK-92/artifact/QTL/gitian-osx-darkcoin/DarkCoin-Qt.dmg

Linux 32bit:
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/BL-DRK/QTL/build-89/gitian-linux-darkcoin-bin/bin/32/darkcoin-qt
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/BL-DRK/QTL/build-89/gitian-linux-darkcoin-bin/bin/32/darkcoind

Linux 64bit:
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/BL-DRK/QTL/build-89/gitian-linux-darkcoin-bin/bin/64/darkcoin-qt
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/BL-DRK/QTL/build-89/gitian-linux-darkcoin-bin/bin/64/darkcoind

CI-builds for v0.10.12.32-g231bfa3

Windows 32bit:
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/...arkcoin-rc-darkcoin-qt-bin/32/darkcoin-qt.exe
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/...coin-rc-darkcoind-bin/32/daemon/darkcoind.exe

Mac OS X:
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/browse/DOD-DRKRC-30/artifact/QTL/gitian-osx-darkcoin-rc/DarkCoin-Qt.dmg

Linux 32bit:
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/...tian-linux-darkcoin-rc-bin/bin/32/darkcoin-qt
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/...gitian-linux-darkcoin-rc-bin/bin/32/darkcoind

Linux 64bit:
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/...tian-linux-darkcoin-rc-bin/bin/64/darkcoin-qt
http://bamboo.darkcoin.qa/artifact/...gitian-linux-darkcoin-rc-bin/bin/64/darkcoind


The Darkcoin Development Team
 

flare

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 18, 2014
2,286
2,404
1,183
Germany
eduffield said:
****** PLEASE UPDATE TO v9.12.28 (Stable) OR 10.12.28 (RC) *******

The unconfirming issue was caused by DS going too fast once and awhile and the view not being able to keep up with what inputs were spent. This caused double spends in about 2% of cases. To fix this I've introduced a limit where darksend will only denominate once a block.

If you have a long standing unconfirmed transaction, simply right click the transaction, copy the txid. Then execute the command "erasetransaction txid" in the console. After that reopen the client with the command -salvagewallet, and the money should be back.

It will still be possible to mix with clients that haven't updated, so avoid activating darksend for a day or so while the network updates. This update is backwards compatible, so masternodes need not update.

Source: Compile if you are running a pool, exchange, etc.

https://github.com/darkcoinproject/darkcoin

9.12.28 (Stable) Binaries: Does not include Darksend

Windows.exe: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/d...in-binaries/master/darkcoin-0.9.12.28-win.zip
Windows installer: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/d...ies/master/darkcoin-0.9.12.28-win32-setup.exe
Mac OSX: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/d...in-binaries/master/darkcoin-0.9.12.28-osx.dmg
Linux: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/d...naries/master/darkcoin-0.9.12.28-linux.tar.gz

10.12.28 (RC) Binaries: Includes Darksend - Masternode Operators

Windows .exe: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/d...inaries/master/rc/darkcoin-0.10.12.28-win.zip
Mac OSX: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/d...inaries/master/rc/darkcoin-0.10.12.28-osx.dmg
Linux: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/d...es/master/rc/darkcoin-0.10.12.28-linux.tar.gz
 

Light

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
Jun 4, 2014
346
256
233
I think Evan meant "this caused double spending attempts" and not actual double spending. Right?
 

stonehedge

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
Jul 31, 2014
696
333
233
I am seeing some reports that the disable darksend checkbox is being ignored in this version. Can somebody confirm if this is the case and whether there is a workaround? Maybe something in the conf file?
 

flare

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 18, 2014
2,286
2,404
1,183
Germany
I am seeing some reports that the disable darksend checkbox is being ignored in this version. Can somebody confirm if this is the case and whether there is a workaround? Maybe something in the conf file?
This bug is confirmed and fixed in v29 - update coming soon.
 
  • Like
Reactions: stonehedge

UdjinM6

Official Dash Dev
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 20, 2014
3,638
3,536
1,183
Running .28 in testnet for about an hour now and it seems the same old story (rounds=2) -> 9 denominations (4 "gray") and no anonymized coins
Is there anyone else having the same issue?
 

flare

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 18, 2014
2,286
2,404
1,183
Germany
eduffield said:
****** PLEASE UPDATE TO v9.12.29 (Stable) OR 10.12.29 (RC) *******

Fixed the reading/writing of the DisableDarksend option in the config and disabled darksend by default. If users want to enable it they can go into the configuration to turn it on.

Source: Compile if you are running a pool, exchange, etc.

https://github.com/darkcoinproject/darkcoin

9.12.29 (Stable) Binaries: Does not include Darksend

Windows.exe: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/d...in-binaries/master/darkcoin-0.9.12.29-win.zip
Windows installer: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/d...ies/master/darkcoin-0.9.12.29-win32-setup.exe
Mac OSX: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/d...in-binaries/master/darkcoin-0.9.12.29-osx.dmg
Linux: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/d...naries/master/darkcoin-0.9.12.29-linux.tar.gz

10.12.29 (RC) Binaries: Includes Darksend - Masternode Operators

Windows .exe: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/d...inaries/master/rc/darkcoin-0.10.12.29-win.zip
Mac OSX: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/d...inaries/master/rc/darkcoin-0.10.12.29-osx.dmg
Linux: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/d...es/master/rc/darkcoin-0.10.12.29-linux.tar.gz
CI-builds for v29 available, updated OP
 

qwizzie

Well-known Member
Aug 6, 2014
1,659
798
183
v10.12.29

Patiently awaiting incoming Darksent Denominate transactions .......

2014-08-14 20:42:05 keypool added key 1054, size=1001
2014-08-14 20:42:05 keypool reserve 54
2014-08-14 20:42:05 keypool keep 54
2014-08-14 20:42:05 CDarkSendPool::SendMoney() - Added transaction to pool.
2014-08-14 20:42:05 dsi -- tx in CTxIn(COutPoint(b478452f0a34ecc7c1dadbdb0cbd1856c6f0247adf7ddf773cf77fe88cebd00e, 4), scriptSig=)
2014-08-14 20:42:05 dsi -- tx in CTxIn(COutPoint(b478452f0a34ecc7c1dadbdb0cbd1856c6f0247adf7ddf773cf77fe88cebd00e, 0), scriptSig=)
2014-08-14 20:42:05 dsi -- tx in CTxIn(COutPoint(b478452f0a34ecc7c1dadbdb0cbd1856c6f0247adf7ddf773cf77fe88cebd00e, 1), scriptSig=)
2014-08-14 20:42:05 dsi -- tx in CTxIn(COutPoint(b478452f0a34ecc7c1dadbdb0cbd1856c6f0247adf7ddf773cf77fe88cebd00e, 9), scriptSig=)
2014-08-14 20:42:05 dsi -- tx in CTxIn(COutPoint(b478452f0a34ecc7c1dadbdb0cbd1856c6f0247adf7ddf773cf77fe88cebd00e, 10), scriptSig=)
2014-08-14 20:42:05 dsi -- tx in CTxIn(COutPoint(b478452f0a34ecc7c1dadbdb0cbd1856c6f0247adf7ddf773cf77fe88cebd00e, 11), scriptSig=)
2014-08-14 20:42:05 dsi -- tx in CTxIn(COutPoint(b478452f0a34ecc7c1dadbdb0cbd1856c6f0247adf7ddf773cf77fe88cebd00e, 12), scriptSig=)
2014-08-14 20:42:05 RelayDarkSendIn - found master, relaying message - 54.64.7.206:19999
2014-08-14 20:42:05 DoAutomaticDenominating : Running darksend denominate. Return ''
2014-08-14 20:42:05 new darksend queue object - 54.64.7.206:19999
2014-08-14 20:42:05 CDarkSendPool::UpdateState() == 2 | 2
2014-08-14 20:42:05 DarkSendStatusUpdate - state: 2 entriesCount: 1 accepted: 1 error:
2014-08-14 20:42:05 CDarkSendPool::StatusUpdate - set sessionID to 509051
2014-08-14 20:42:05 CDarkSendPool::StatusUpdate - entry accepted!
2014-08-14 20:42:05 CDarkSendPool::UpdateState() == 2 | 2
2014-08-14 20:42:05 DarkSendStatusUpdate - state: 2 entriesCount: 1 accepted: -1 error:
2014-08-14 20:42:05 darkSend Status => Your transaction was accepted into the pool!
2014-08-14 20:42:07 Flushing wallet.dat
2014-08-14 20:42:07 Flushed wallet.dat 188ms
2014-08-14 20:42:09 darkSend Status => ( Entries 1/2 )
2014-08-14 20:42:22 darkSend Status => Waiting for more entries (1/2 ) .
 

catlasshrugged

New Member
Aug 14, 2014
20
23
13
About how long does it take folks to start and complete the DarkSend process on the testnet? I'm using v10.12.29 with settings:
DarkSend rounds to use: 3
Amount of Darkcoin to keep anonymized: 100
(unchecked) Disable Darksend
 

qwizzie

Well-known Member
Aug 6, 2014
1,659
798
183
difficult to say .. i have a feeling not many are testing it here on testnet right now and also most will not have updated to latest update
as that was just released.

If you feel like testing on testnet then create seperate folder for it,
link to it (for example : put -datadir=D:\DarkcoinTestData in the shortcut towards darkcoin-qt.exe if yr using a windows wallet)
and put testnet=1 in your darkcoin.conf and place it in D:\DarkcoinTestData

Use this site to get free drk : https://drkipn.com/test/faucet/
 
Last edited by a moderator:

flare

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 18, 2014
2,286
2,404
1,183
Germany
Thanks flare. I'll update to v29 when available.
v10.12.29

Patiently awaiting incoming Darksent Denominate transactions .......

2014-08-14 20:42:05 keypool added key 1054, size=1001
2014-08-14 20:42:05 keypool reserve 54
2014-08-14 20:42:05 keypool keep 54
2014-08-14 20:42:05 CDarkSendPool::SendMoney() - Added transaction to pool.
2014-08-14 20:42:05 dsi -- tx in CTxIn(COutPoint(b478452f0a34ecc7c1dadbdb0cbd1856c6f0247adf7ddf773cf77fe88cebd00e, 4), scriptSig=)
2014-08-14 20:42:05 dsi -- tx in CTxIn(COutPoint(b478452f0a34ecc7c1dadbdb0cbd1856c6f0247adf7ddf773cf77fe88cebd00e, 0), scriptSig=)
2014-08-14 20:42:05 dsi -- tx in CTxIn(COutPoint(b478452f0a34ecc7c1dadbdb0cbd1856c6f0247adf7ddf773cf77fe88cebd00e, 1), scriptSig=)
2014-08-14 20:42:05 dsi -- tx in CTxIn(COutPoint(b478452f0a34ecc7c1dadbdb0cbd1856c6f0247adf7ddf773cf77fe88cebd00e, 9), scriptSig=)
2014-08-14 20:42:05 dsi -- tx in CTxIn(COutPoint(b478452f0a34ecc7c1dadbdb0cbd1856c6f0247adf7ddf773cf77fe88cebd00e, 10), scriptSig=)
2014-08-14 20:42:05 dsi -- tx in CTxIn(COutPoint(b478452f0a34ecc7c1dadbdb0cbd1856c6f0247adf7ddf773cf77fe88cebd00e, 11), scriptSig=)
2014-08-14 20:42:05 dsi -- tx in CTxIn(COutPoint(b478452f0a34ecc7c1dadbdb0cbd1856c6f0247adf7ddf773cf77fe88cebd00e, 12), scriptSig=)
2014-08-14 20:42:05 RelayDarkSendIn - found master, relaying message - 54.64.7.206:19999
2014-08-14 20:42:05 DoAutomaticDenominating : Running darksend denominate. Return ''
2014-08-14 20:42:05 new darksend queue object - 54.64.7.206:19999
2014-08-14 20:42:05 CDarkSendPool::UpdateState() == 2 | 2
2014-08-14 20:42:05 DarkSendStatusUpdate - state: 2 entriesCount: 1 accepted: 1 error:
2014-08-14 20:42:05 CDarkSendPool::StatusUpdate - set sessionID to 509051
2014-08-14 20:42:05 CDarkSendPool::StatusUpdate - entry accepted!
2014-08-14 20:42:05 CDarkSendPool::UpdateState() == 2 | 2
2014-08-14 20:42:05 DarkSendStatusUpdate - state: 2 entriesCount: 1 accepted: -1 error:
2014-08-14 20:42:05 darkSend Status => Your transaction was accepted into the pool!
2014-08-14 20:42:07 Flushing wallet.dat
2014-08-14 20:42:07 Flushed wallet.dat 188ms
2014-08-14 20:42:09 darkSend Status => ( Entries 1/2 )
2014-08-14 20:42:22 darkSend Status => Waiting for more entries (1/2 ) .
Network needs to update to v28+ first... waiting too :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: qwizzie

catlasshrugged

New Member
Aug 14, 2014
20
23
13
If you feel like testing on testnet then create seperate folder for it,
link to it (for example : put - datadir=D:\DarkcoinTestData in the shortcut towards darkcoin-qt.exe if yr using a windows wallet)
and put testnet=1 in your darkcoin.conf
I'm using the Linux client. As far as I can tell, starting the client with the -testnet client seems sufficient to get it to connect to the testnet without modifying any configuration files, but does anyone know otherwise?
 

stonehedge

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
Jul 31, 2014
696
333
233
Eh? You know what? I give in. I'm totally out of my depth. I haven't got enough DRK to keep paying Yidakee to update my nodes. Every time I try to follow instructions I end up breaking something. And there I was thinking that I had to update my masternodes to 29 and I think I've broken one of them whilst trying to do so. I'm just going to go to bed early (GMT+1 here) and see where things are in the morning and if there is any more clarity on what needs to be done, to what and by who I'll be a happy man. /rantover (more upset that I've been tinkering and been caught out again :( )
 

qwizzie

Well-known Member
Aug 6, 2014
1,659
798
183
Eh? You know what? I give in. I'm totally out of my depth. I haven't got enough DRK to keep paying Yidakee to update my nodes. Every time I try to follow instructions I end up breaking something. And there I was thinking that I had to update my masternodes to 29 and I think I've broken one of them whilst trying to do so. I'm just going to go to bed early (GMT+1 here) and see where things are in the morning and if there is any more clarity on what needs to be done, to what and by who I'll be a happy man. /rantover (more upset that I've been tinkering and been caught out again :( )
not all updates are mandatory for MN owners ... someone pls inform us which update was mandatory for MN owners ? was it 10.12.26 ?
 

flare

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 18, 2014
2,286
2,404
1,183
Germany
not all updates are mandatory for MN owners ... someone pls inform us which update was mandatory for MN owners ? was it 10.12.26 ?
Yes, the last mandatory update was 10.12.26

eduffield said:
****** PLEASE UPDATE TO v9.12.26 (Stable) OR 10.12.26 (RC) *******

This update addresses a few small issues that presented themselves after we launched on mainnet. Please update ASAP. The protocol version was changed, so this is a mandatory update. Sorry for any inconvenience.
 
  • Like
Reactions: vertoe and qwizzie

flare

Administrator
Dash Core Team
Moderator
May 18, 2014
2,286
2,404
1,183
Germany
I'm using the Linux client. As far as I can tell, starting the client with the -testnet client seems sufficient to get it to connect to the testnet without modifying any configuration files, but does anyone know otherwise?
-testnet as parameter is sufficient to connect your client to testnet. Nothing more needed.
 

mbilker

Member
Aug 7, 2014
55
8
48
Upgraded my MN (66.172.33.248:19999) to v0.10.12.29 (flare build 29 linux 64-bit) for further testing. May start up a node to run on mainnet using the released RC4 version.
 

thelonecrouton

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
Apr 15, 2014
1,135
813
283
Eh? You know what? I give in. I'm totally out of my depth. I haven't got enough DRK to keep paying Yidakee to update my nodes. Every time I try to follow instructions I end up breaking something. And there I was thinking that I had to update my masternodes to 29 and I think I've broken one of them whilst trying to do so. I'm just going to go to bed early (GMT+1 here) and see where things are in the morning and if there is any more clarity on what needs to be done, to what and by who I'll be a happy man. /rantover (more upset that I've been tinkering and been caught out again :( )
Breaking stuff is how you learn! :D

Use testnet, with tDRK it doesn't matter and the principles are all exactly the same, so you'll know what you're doing (and what not to do!) on main-net.
 
  • Like
Reactions: stonehedge

thelonecrouton

Well-known Member
Foundation Member
Apr 15, 2014
1,135
813
283
There's something weird going on with the options screen, specifically when you click the Apply button after making some change, that spikes CPU usage to the max for far longer than seems reasonable. Once the OK button eventually becomes clickable, CPU usage drops way back down and the slowdowns-to-the-point-of-complete-unusability I've been having mostly go away. They only mostly stay away though with Darksend disabled.

edit: ignore the above, still getting random periods of CPU being hammered and GUI halt. Can't see anything in the debug log as it scrolls by that obviously precipitates this behaviour, or ends it. Grump.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

JGCMiner

Moderator
Moderator
Jun 8, 2014
364
217
113
Flare, any update on the Darksend rounds>1 issue? Or is the dev team still looking into that?
 

v0latile

New Member
Jul 9, 2014
2
1
3
I think the client needs an auto-update downloader or at least an update check dialog as I can't keep up with checking forums every 5 minutes for new releases. No sooner do I download a new binary and update another update comes out and im behind again.
 
  • Like
Reactions: catlasshrugged

catlasshrugged

New Member
Aug 14, 2014
20
23
13
Bug (that you're probably already aware of): Invalid number (-2) in "Darksend Rounds" column in the Coin Control window. (v10.12.29 linux)



We have reproduced the issue, still looking at it. Stick to rounds=1 in the meantime.
Thanks for addressing this, I was experiencing issues with this as well.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Walter and flare
Status
Not open for further replies.