• Forum has been upgraded, all links, images, etc are as they were. Please see Official Announcements for more information

Backporting bitcoin 0.13+ performance improvements

codablock

Hello,

I was already thinking about working for Dash since some time, and now got some time between 2 projects (I'm a freelancer) that I could use for this. In the end, I'd like to deliver something valuable and later create a proposal to fund this work.

I've talked with two core devs on Slack about where I could support and one suggestion was to look into performance improvements of dashd and backporting perf related changes from bitcoin 0.13+.

I started to read through the performance related changes in bitcoin and one thing that I immediately assumed to be worth of backporting is the "assumed valid blocks" feature from the 0.14 release, with an optional addition (which I describe later). Other changes, especially network code related, might be hard to backport as I read that Dash had some major refactoring in the network code.

Is anyone already working on this or a comparable task? Or are there maybe any documents describing the state of backporting tasks?

Regarding "assumed valid blocks": The basic idea is to specify a block hash that is known/trusted to be valid and part of the longest chain. This knowledge lifts the node from full block/transaction validation when doing the initial block download for each block that was mined before the specified block, decreasing load on the CPU and thus reducing IBD time. Bitcoin has also added a default block hash which was confirmed by multiple developers to be valid and part of the longest chain.