Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

v0.10.12.x Get back on testnet!

Discussion in 'Testing' started by vertoe, Sep 3, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vertoe

    vertoe Three of Nine

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,573
    Likes Received:
    1,652
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    catlasshrugged needs some peers and masternodes to test denominations and darksend+ but there is too less activity on the testnet.

    If you have a spare machine, please consider
    • Running a masternode on testnet
    • Running a RC4 wallet on testnet with active denominations going on
    • Running a pool on testnet to keep the chain rolling
    • Running a faucet for fast free testnet coins for everyone
    If you need anything, look up [STICKY] Testnet tools & resources here. For ongoing testnet work, please use this thread temporary until the RC5 testing is starting.

    Cheers.
     
    • Like Like x 4
  2. stonehedge

    stonehedge Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    333
    Trophy Points:
    233
    I've got a single spare high spec Windows PC with decentish GPU loads of RAM and decent CPU. What's the best way for me to put this to use to help? Futile?

    I have very little spare time right now sadly.

    flare my offer of spot instances still stands despite my rather expensive screw up last month! I've also got a few t2.medium instances with capacity although I would need to find some time to configure these as testnet mnodes as I have customer applications in dev on them at the moment.

    In short, I want to help but I don't have much time to devote to this due to real life job but could help with some hardware.
     
  3. flare

    flare Administrator
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,287
    Likes Received:
    2,406
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Happy to reveive the new instances, will setup a grid of continously denominating testnodes then.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. stonehedge

    stonehedge Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    333
    Trophy Points:
    233

    No problem. Confirm security group requirements and numbers required and I'll spin them up for you ASAP.
     
  5. OnetyOne

    OnetyOne New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Don't know anything about coding but I'm a hardware freak. If there's anything specific that you guys need I can slap it together and set it up (for remote access).
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. stonehedge

    stonehedge Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    333
    Trophy Points:
    233
    I provided 6 t1.micro instances to help with RC4 testnet activities and have done the same for preparations for RC5. flare is the dev who has been using them.

    Are there any other devs out there who would like some t1.micro spot instances? The bigger we can make testnet the better and whilst I can't afford to provide too many more, I'm sure there are some other members of the community who'd be happy to provide hardware resources if they knew there was a demand for them.

    How much better would it be to have 200 masternodes on testnet? Is there any reason why a testnet expenses donation fund can't be created? This would allow the devs to expand testnet (if they have the human resource to do so) in addition to the volunteer resources provided. I would see this as creating a larger and more varied testnet environment and ultimately increase our ability to give RC5 a real hammering before mainnet.

    So how about it? I'm not suggesting paying the devs...just providing some funds to cover a bundle of spot instances or other hardware to make testnet bigger and better.

    vertoe ... would you be able to bounce this idea off the dev team?
     
    #6 stonehedge, Sep 3, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 3, 2014
  7. elbereth

    elbereth Active Member
    Dash Support Group

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    466
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Dash Address:
    XkfkHqMnhvQovo7kXQjvnNiFnQhRNZYCsz
    I have already 4 active MN on testnet (since the beginning of RC4 more or less) and a p2pool (that never went down).
    Will try to bring up 11 more.
     
  8. kryptofoo

    kryptofoo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    78
    It's my first time contributing to testnet. Is it preferrable to use the local/remote type of masternode on testnet or does it matter? I can help with a MN or two and maybe a few wallets running denom. I just set testnet=1 in the conf file right???
     
  9. thelonecrouton

    thelonecrouton Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    813
    Trophy Points:
    283
    Basically, yes, just stick testnet=1 in there.

    Local/remote I don't think it matters, I just run my MN wallet hot on the server, I'm not worried about anyone stealing my tDRK, in fact it would be interesting if someone tried.
     
  10. BelStar

    BelStar Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    58
    I'll have a windows wallet continuously denominating tDRKs. I'm also willing to send tDRKs back and forth to generate some transaction traffic.

    flare
    Can you keep us posted once you know more about the test plan for RC5? Thanks!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. stonehedge

    stonehedge Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    333
    Trophy Points:
    233
    How many wallets do you reckon I can run simultaneously on a Windows PC? I know I can specify different data directories but I wonder if there is a limit to the number of instances that will be able to bind to the network interface?

    I had a quick try yesterday and I seem to think 3 was the max although I didn't have a chance to look at the error message. I might do some more investigating tonight. Maybe I can do something with virtual box.
     
  12. Minotaur

    Minotaur Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    1,079
    Trophy Points:
    263
    OK, I am on testnet, great initiative guys.
     
  13. Minotaur

    Minotaur Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    1,079
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Could someone send me some tDRK please.

    mujizHA4THmpcnwtap4cVXL1y7tnkbTBed

    Edit: Thank you just got some tDRK
     
  14. splawik21

    splawik21 Grizzled Member
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Dash Support Group Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,916
    Likes Received:
    1,273
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Don`t worry ASAP RC5 testing will go live there will be special thread for it :)
     
  15. qwizzie

    qwizzie Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,513
    Likes Received:
    717
    Trophy Points:
    183
    yess.. finally.. back at further anonymizing my 20.000 tDRK set for 8 Darksend Rounds
    (with so few users on Testnet i got stuck at Avg rounds : 6.9/8).
    Lets go guys.. i wanna see all perfect 8's today :)
     
  16. splawik21

    splawik21 Grizzled Member
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Dash Support Group Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,916
    Likes Received:
    1,273
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    is it live now ?
     
  17. qwizzie

    qwizzie Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,513
    Likes Received:
    717
    Trophy Points:
    183
    its always live.. but wallet activity depends on how many users are at the same time denominating their wallet.
    I'm getting lots of denominations right now so its going good.
     
  18. moli

    moli Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3,261
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Could someone please send me 2000 tdrk? Thanks.

    n2PU5zhzhTqwm67uk1L1uM2teoghM7B3xq
     
  19. qwizzie

    qwizzie Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,513
    Likes Received:
    717
    Trophy Points:
    183
    its mostly my splitted into 100's and 500's that the wallet has difficulty finding a match for here on Testnet (particularly the 500's)

    ERROR : found enough users but not compatable with existing transactions
     
  20. qwizzie

    qwizzie Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,513
    Likes Received:
    717
    Trophy Points:
    183
    done..
     
  21. moli

    moli Grizzled Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    3,261
    Likes Received:
    1,837
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Got it. Thank you. :)
     
  22. qwizzie

    qwizzie Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,513
    Likes Received:
    717
    Trophy Points:
    183
  23. coingun

    coingun Active Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    402
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Could someone please send me 7k tDRK. I have 5 nodes I'd like to put online as masternodes and two more to do coin denom's with. I also don't mind helping ppl with access to tDRK if they need. I will take any extra's and can be around on irc to distribute them.

    mxqEt1NtSS8Jwim7qu6Y3NXKAcTKxZAbnf
     
  24. catlasshrugged

    catlasshrugged New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    13
    Thanks everyone for helping to support me on the testnet.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  25. teamer

    teamer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2014
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    136
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Guys i will fix drkipn.com tesnet faucet once i am out of hospital ...needs binaries update i guess and a restart?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  26. Lariondos

    Lariondos Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    158
    Done.
    -> b248ae2550ea6aeb58a28c9981eb6b105adaa7824694cc6583065de654e5d160
     
  27. coingun

    coingun Active Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    402
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Thanks! I have pointed about 6mh/s at testnet as well.
     
  28. souptacular

    souptacular Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    158
    I would love to help contribute to testnet. I will leave a testnet instance running as much as I can and will explore creating some testnet masternodes in the next week.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.