Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

Update to 0.9.4.4 or 0.10.8.4 to prepare for the hardfork on May 25!

Discussion in 'Official Developer Thread' started by eduffield, May 19, 2014.

  1. eduffield

    eduffield Core Developer
    Dash Core Team

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,084
    Likes Received:
    5,318
    Trophy Points:
    183
    ** Run a service and didn't get an email? Please signup here: http://goo.gl/mSYVhX ***

    Here are the final changes before the fork on the 25th. Please update any daemons and other clients you're running to prepare for the hard fork.

    These are the last changes we'll make before continuing onto RC3. In the meantime, we'll be making sure all pool operators (stratum, nomp and p2pool) are patching and have been tested against testnet.

    Let me know if you have any questions or concerns.

    Exchanges & Pool Operators: Please respond when you've updated, we'll bug you if you haven't responded as time gets closer.
    Masternodes: You'll have to restart your masternode after the majority of the network has updated.

    Thanks,

    The Darkcoin Team

    --------------------------

    Source code:
    https://github.com/darkcoinproject/darkcoin

    Stable version (v0.9.4.4):
    http://www.darkcoin.io/downloads/darkcoind
    http://www.darkcoin.io/downloads/darkcoin-qt
    http://www.darkcoin.io/downloads/darkcoin-qt.exe

    RC2 (v0.10.8.4):
    http://www.darkcoin.io/downloads/rc/darkcoind
    http://www.darkcoin.io/downloads/rc/darkcoin-qt
    http://www.darkcoin.io/downloads/rc/darkcoin-qt.exe

    PS, 10.8.4 is the correct version. 10.9.4 in the title is a typo
     
    #1 eduffield, May 19, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: May 19, 2014
    • Like Like x 1
  2. fernando

    fernando Powered by Dash
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,522
    Likes Received:
    2,046
    Trophy Points:
    283
    Hard to keep up with so much coding but it is great that things finally fall into place! Will you post when it is the time to restart the masternodes?
     
  3. scorpio18

    scorpio18 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I hope this is the last update :D :p i hope will be a patch until May 25 for the p2pool :)
     
  4. luke997

    luke997 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Updated, looking good.
     
  5. BrainShutdown

    BrainShutdown Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    188
    2 local/remote nodes updated & running with no issues so far :)
     
  6. HammerHedd

    HammerHedd Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    88
    darkcoin.kicks-ass.net updated
    masternode updated

    Now I just need to patch p2pool and I'll be good to go!

    Thanks Evan for all the hard work
     
  7. AlexMomo

    AlexMomo New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2014
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    What are the <0> and <1> means at the right of the masternodes list ?

    "54.187.221.4:9999" : 0,
    "54.255.148.0:9999" : 1,
    "54.187.223.100:9999" : 0,
    "54.186.167.254:9999" : 1,
    "54.72.58.75:9999" : 1,
    "141.255.184.191:9999" : 1,
    "108.171.248.164:9999" : 0,
    "81.71.76.162:9999" : 1,
    "54.186.116.211:9999" : 0,
    "172.245.215.22:9999" : 1,
    "54.72.209.87:9999" : 1,
    "80.38.144.39:9999" : 1,
    "142.161.23.40:9999" : 1,
    "107.170.146.58:9999" : 0,
    "54.72.196.78:9999" : 0,
    "54.207.101.228:9999" : 0,
    "184.73.179.148:9999" : 1,
    "37.59.168.129:9999" : 1,
    "188.226.133.22:9999" : 1,
    "188.226.248.36:9999" : 1,
    "54.215.181.251:9999" : 0
     
  8. yidakee

    yidakee Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,812
    Likes Received:
    1,168
    Trophy Points:
    283
    Brilliant news !! Good job guys!!

    EDIT: Brilliant !!! Moving from testnet to mainnet was super smooth!
     
    #8 yidakee, May 19, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: May 20, 2014
  9. thelonecrouton

    thelonecrouton Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    815
    Trophy Points:
    283
    Updated. Both my MNs can see themselves and each other, qt wallet can only see the last few on the list, seems to be working itself very slowly back up the list from the bottom.

    edit: actually no, qt wallet is only seeing nodes launched after it was as the new ones come online. Not seeing any nodes from before it was launched.
     
    #9 thelonecrouton, May 19, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: May 19, 2014
    • Like Like x 1
  10. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Moderator
    Linguistic Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,843
    Likes Received:
    1,861
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Is anyone else getting permission denied when trying to start darkcoind? And when I use sudo, I get command not found...
     
  11. moloch

    moloch New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I think you have not chmod 755 your file?
    You have to make it executable i think.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Moderator
    Linguistic Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,843
    Likes Received:
    1,861
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Ugh! I'm so burned out at this point, I totally forgot! LOL, thank you so much!
     
  13. moloch

    moloch New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    my pleasure :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Moderator
    Linguistic Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,843
    Likes Received:
    1,861
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    I'm still not out of the woods though. I *think* I did everything correctly. I started my local MN and am able to see myself on the list there with :1, but not on my other machines. Can anyone tell me if 54.215.181.251 is really on the list please?

    To clean up my babble, If I stop darkcoind or darkcoin-qt, I can sometimes get another list of masternodes. They actually seem to have different IP addresses. I've come across one with 20 nodes, 30 nodes, and 33 nodes. The one with 30 nodes has my ip address on it (now 31) But unfortunately, I've been unable to get that list to pop up on one of the other wallets. So I don't know if my masternode is functioning.

    Also, now I'm attempting to turn my local darkcoind off via ./darkcoind stop I'm given the response "Darkcoin server stopping" but it doesn't. I can still do ./darkcoind masternode list, and get a list, I also can't get a lock on the data file, etc... so I can't start my second masternode. If I reboot, It actually is still on (or is automatically restarting with the computer) I've never installed my darkcoind with any auto startup feature on this machine. It's doing this on it's own. I'm wondering if there is a way to stop this wallet so I can start another one?
     
    #14 TanteStefana, May 20, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: May 20, 2014
  15. thelonecrouton

    thelonecrouton Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    815
    Trophy Points:
    283
    Howdy! Both my MNs see you.
    Code:
    darkcoind masternode list | grep '54.215'
      "54.215.181.251:9999" : 0,
    
    
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Moderator
    Linguistic Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,843
    Likes Received:
    1,861
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Is that from doing ./darkcoind masternode list? Or from the debug log? Shoot, my computer shows me with :1 next to the ip address, so obviously something is wrong :(
    Nope, correction, I just checked and it's gone from :1 to :0

    Dang, I haven't the slightest clue what I'm doing wrong! And I can't stop my darkcoind wallet either, it just keeps going like the eveready battery bunny! Ugh! 3 days now, and no progress!

    I forgot to say thank you! Thank you so much for trying to help! It's good to know somebody is out there :)

    Talk about freakishly weird. I tried to stop my local masternode again with darkcoind masternode stop (requires unlocking wallet) It didn't work again, but when I did ./darkcoind masternode list, my ip had :1 next to it again!

    Something is screwy here, I'm going to wait a few days and see if Evan finds a problem and fixes it. I can't take anymore :mad: LOL, I need a break, gonna go watch a movie or 5
     
    #16 TanteStefana, May 20, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: May 20, 2014
  17. thelonecrouton

    thelonecrouton Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    815
    Trophy Points:
    283
  18. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Moderator
    Linguistic Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,843
    Likes Received:
    1,861
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Thank you again, yes I have seen those posts.

    I would love to start my other node but I don't have another computer to do it with and I can't stop my darkcoind wallet. Like I said before, I even tried rebooting, and it still acted like it was on (I could get a masternode list right after a reboot!) I can't get the darn wallet to let go of the lock or shut down.

    ./darkcoind stop ..........tried
    ./darkcoind walletpassphrase XXXXXXXXXXXXX 60 then ./darkcoind masternode stop............. tried
    rebooting.........tried

    The dang thing keeps on going and going and going.......... I'm losing my mind! LOL

    Oh, I also tried pkill darkcoind and killall darkcoind
     
  19. Wh1teKn1ght

    Wh1teKn1ght New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    anyone find a solution to having the MN still show up in the list on the remote server after shutting down the local QT wallet (after the MN has been started in the QT wallet)? It seems to work fine now until I close my QT wallet...after that, my MN no longer displays in the remote server list.
     
  20. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Moderator
    Linguistic Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,843
    Likes Received:
    1,861
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    I haven't been able to get the masternode list that has my ip address to show up on any other wallet here. Plus, I can't seem to turn off my ./darkcoind LOL, Rebooted again, now ./darkcoind isn't really on, but the lock on the directory is still there. Your MN could still be running, but you're looking at the wrong list? I've found at least 3 lists, but I think I've found 5, too hard to tell if nodes are being added or something to change the count. Some seem close to the same count. The one my MN was on had 31, I found one with 32 MNs but it wasn't the same one. It's quite a mess.
     
  21. Scriptiee

    Scriptiee Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Still getting different results between the stable and the RC for the masternode votes.

    Code:
    $ ./darkcoind getinfo
    {
        "version" : 100804,
        "protocolversion" : 70015,
        "walletversion" : 60000,
        "balance" : 1000.00000000,
        "blocks" : 71587,
        "timeoffset" : 0,
        "connections" : 15,
        "proxy" : "",
        "difficulty" : 2104.36196442,
        "testnet" : false,
        "keypoololdest" : 1399068045,
        "keypoolsize" : 101,
        "paytxfee" : 0.00000000,
        "mininput" : 0.00001000,
        "unlocked_until" : 0,
        "errors" : ""
    }
    $ ./darkcoind masternode votes
    {
        "71583" : "OP_DUP OP_HASH160 8e59899f3d3d0291d0b9581e5bf716458d337126 OP_EQUALVERIFY OP_CHECKSIG",
        "71584" : "OP_DUP OP_HASH160 a195af90c3ccf61ffbb377e6f08d49829f42ffad OP_EQUALVERIFY OP_CHECKSIG",
        "71585" : "OP_DUP OP_HASH160 8e59899f3d3d0291d0b9581e5bf716458d337126 OP_EQUALVERIFY OP_CHECKSIG",
        "71586" : "OP_DUP OP_HASH160 ab7912f0fd72f99db47ad5ca13024aab2bc3d932 OP_EQUALVERIFY OP_CHECKSIG",
        "71587" : "OP_DUP OP_HASH160 6fa380600134982350cc440d7f2be0e0095272fb OP_EQUALVERIFY OP_CHECKSIG",
        "71588" : "OP_DUP OP_HASH160 7597ff1c8f54c58c966726d5bb35f37228492f1b OP_EQUALVERIFY OP_CHECKSIG"
    
    Code:
    $ ./darkcoind getinfo
    {
        "version" : 90404,
        "protocolversion" : 70015,
        "walletversion" : 60000,
        "balance" : 0.00000000,
        "blocks" : 71587,
        "timeoffset" : 0,
        "connections" : 8,
        "proxy" : "",
        "difficulty" : 2104.36196442,
        "testnet" : false,
        "keypoololdest" : 1399071343,
        "keypoolsize" : 101,
        "paytxfee" : 0.00000000,
        "mininput" : 0.00001000,
        "unlocked_until" : 0,
        "errors" : ""
    }
    $ ./darkcoind masternode votes
    {
        "71582" : "OP_DUP OP_HASH160 a195af90c3ccf61ffbb377e6f08d49829f42ffad OP_EQUALVERIFY OP_CHECKSIG",
        "71583" : "OP_DUP OP_HASH160 3b7cb7a63e631b067161fc20d5214045741cab58 OP_EQUALVERIFY OP_CHECKSIG",
        "71584" : "OP_DUP OP_HASH160 a195af90c3ccf61ffbb377e6f08d49829f42ffad OP_EQUALVERIFY OP_CHECKSIG",
        "71585" : "OP_DUP OP_HASH160 3b7cb7a63e631b067161fc20d5214045741cab58 OP_EQUALVERIFY OP_CHECKSIG",
        "71586" : "OP_DUP OP_HASH160 a195af90c3ccf61ffbb377e6f08d49829f42ffad OP_EQUALVERIFY OP_CHECKSIG",
        "71587" : "OP_DUP OP_HASH160 3b7cb7a63e631b067161fc20d5214045741cab58 OP_EQUALVERIFY OP_CHECKSIG",
        "71588" : "OP_DUP OP_HASH160 3b7cb7a63e631b067161fc20d5214045741cab58 OP_EQUALVERIFY OP_CHECKSIG"
    }
    
    Is that meant to happen or did I do something wrong?
     
  22. yidakee

    yidakee Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,812
    Likes Received:
    1,168
    Trophy Points:
    283
    Question guys... when on testenet 10.8.2, I did genkey on the server, added to conf file, flag=1 -.... but local wouldnt start masternode
    I added the SAME genkey to local conf file, and it worked fine.

    But I've read around people generating one genkey for server masternode, and another for the local wallet.
    So what is the right procedure? I'm ready to go live but want to do it right from the get to!
     
  23. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Moderator
    Linguistic Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,843
    Likes Received:
    1,861
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Unfortunately, I don't think anyone can tell if their MN's are really working. Is there a command to see who won the last round? It no longer shows up in the debug log.
     
  24. Scriptiee

    Scriptiee Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    48
    from what I can see the main net is kinda divided in 3 if it comes to wallet versions, take I a masternode or stable wallet.
    It is hard to tell what is really going on until everyone updates their wallets to the correct versions (or at least majority of people)
     
  25. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Moderator
    Linguistic Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,843
    Likes Received:
    1,861
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    I'd like to understand how it all is supposed to work. When I type in masternode votes, what am I seeing? Am I seeing the last 10 winners of the voting? Are those the masternode genkey keys? Why do I get an IP number instead when I do masternode current instead of it's key? If the results were the same data, I might have a chance to understand what I'm looking at?? If the masternode votes are the last 10 winners, then there must be very few actually working masternodes because there are repeats of 2 to 3 identical keys. Which would mean they're constantly cycling through the same few masternodes.

    I wish Evan would come in here and explain a few things???
     
    • Like Like x 1
  26. fernando

    fernando Powered by Dash
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,522
    Likes Received:
    2,046
    Trophy Points:
    283
    I don't think so. I think we will have to wait for Evan to call for the rebooting of masternodes to have more clues about which ones are actually working. I updated my two ones a few hours ago and the results are:
    -Masternode A: it sees 35 masternodes, including my own two (now in 0 state, an hour ago I think they were 1)
    -Masternode B: it sees 18 masternodes and it doesn't see itself. The list is not a subset of list in A although most MNs in B are in A. Most are 1s but also a few 0s.
    -Local wallet: it sees 15, all in state 1. My MNs not here :(

    Masternode votes don't check either. They are different in both MNs and in local wallet, although a few of the votes in the local wallet do check with masternode B.

    If I hadn't read a post by Evan in bitcointalk about messages not propagating and the need to wait for the reboot I would be going crazy!
     
  27. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Moderator
    Linguistic Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,843
    Likes Received:
    1,861
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    I read it and was still going crazy, LOL, but I finally gave up. Too wired now to sleep though, LOL
     
  28. eduffield

    eduffield Core Developer
    Dash Core Team

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,084
    Likes Received:
    5,318
    Trophy Points:
    183
    1 means the node is active (it's pinged in the last hour), 0 means it's expired.
     
  29. eduffield

    eduffield Core Developer
    Dash Core Team

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,084
    Likes Received:
    5,318
    Trophy Points:
    183
    So this update is incompatible with the old messaging system for the masternodes. This basically means that messages weren't able to propagate correctly across the network, so we had different lists for awhile. From the looks of it about 50% of the users have updated, so messages should start propagating correctly soon.
     
  30. eduffield

    eduffield Core Developer
    Dash Core Team

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,084
    Likes Received:
    5,318
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Version 9.4.5 and 10.8.5

    I've added some code to help the network sync while we update. Now the client will request the masternode list from each client it connects it and combine them.

    If you're having syncing problems with the masternode list or you are a masternode please update.

    Source code:
    https://github.com/darkcoinproject/darkcoin

    Stable version (v0.9.4.5):
    http://www.darkcoin.io/downloads/darkcoind
    http://www.darkcoin.io/downloads/darkcoin-qt
    http://www.darkcoin.io/downloads/darkcoin-qt.exe

    RC2 (v0.10.8.5):
    http://www.darkcoin.io/downloads/rc/darkcoind
    http://www.darkcoin.io/downloads/rc/darkcoin-qt
    http://www.darkcoin.io/downloads/rc/darkcoin-qt.exe
     
    • Like Like x 2

Share This Page