Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

Setup your KeepKey wallet for dash (and other coins)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by kiljoy001, Mar 3, 2017.

  1. kiljoy001

    kiljoy001 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I have written this guide for anyone who decided on buying or is using a keepkey hardware wallet to store their cryptographic assets such as dash. The process is not terribly difficult, but it did take me more time than normal to figure out to set it up, as the information was not in one location, and was somewhat harder than normal for me to find.

    Step 1. Download the right client Keepkey has two versions of their chrome client - one is the stable release, the other being a release candidate. Out of the two, you want to download the release candidate rather than the stable release. In the future, this is bound to change, but at the time of this post, you will need the aforementioned version. The release candidate has the ability to store other assets beyond bitcoin.

    Step 2. Follow the directions to setup your device I'm going defer to the instructions provided by keepkey here. A gentle reminder: keep your seed phrase in a safe place. One other thing: Make sure your firmware is current - my version is 3 at the time of this post. If it isn't, do a firmware update by holding down the button on the wallet, then open your keepkey app. Follow the directions and that should be taken care of quite quickly.

    Step 3 Make Your Accounts At this point you should be able to create your accounts - there should now be a listbox with other cryptos. Just choose what you need (dash), give it a name and press next.

    How to use Shapeshift

    When I tried to do this it wasn't quite obvious on how to start the process, but all you need to do is go to the send menu and click on the blank address field. It should now show any other accounts you have. Select one and then proceed. There will be a prompt asking you to accept shapeshift's terms of service, to accept hold down the button on your device. All done. You can easily now buy bitcoin (or any of the other supported coins) and exchange it on your keepkey wallet.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Donna

    Donna New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I just bought one. Opened it up and there is a list of coins that you can store on it, and DASH is not in the list. Does yours actually list DASH?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. kiljoy001

    kiljoy001 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    • Like Like x 1
  4. bitbybit

    bitbybit New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    This is great! Do you know if I can run Dash masternode off KeepKey offline wallet?
     
  5. flare

    flare Administrator
    Core Developer Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,213
    Likes Received:
    2,375
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Yes, you can start masternodes off KeepKey using dashmnb --> https://github.com/chaeplin/dashmnb
    It's still a bit "hacky" though, we are working on solutions with a better user experience :)
     
    • Like Like x 4
  6. chaeplin

    chaeplin Active Member
    Dash Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    323
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Dash Address:
    XiDWe5fkVcrXBQApmCFQUxpue5iuWcbmcK
    True. dashmnb is geeky and interim solution to start masternode till official solution launched.

    I think there will be no fund(s) move or mn queue lost when moving from dashmnb to mnbroadcast official solution, because fund(s) are in hw wallet.
     
    #6 chaeplin, Mar 18, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2017
    • Like Like x 1
  7. bitbybit

    bitbybit New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Thank you @flare and @chaeplin!
    Trying to follow the dashmnb instructions at github, I noticed one of the steps seems out-of-date: activate script's location has changed from venv3/bin to venv3/scripts.

    Also being a newbie to Dash masternode, I'm somewhat confused by how this guide relates to Tao's Setup Guide on dash(dot)org. Does this guide completely replace Tao's Setup Guide if you're running hardware wallet? There seem to be some overlap, yet this guide doesn't mention dash-cli or sentinel which I thought were necessary for running a masternode.
     
  8. chaeplin

    chaeplin Active Member
    Dash Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    323
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Dash Address:
    XiDWe5fkVcrXBQApmCFQUxpue5iuWcbmcK
    linux/mac uses venv3/bin, windows uses venv3\Scripts.

    You need to setup remote masternode using Tao's guide, dashmnb only covers local cold wallet part.
     
  9. bitbybit

    bitbybit New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I see. Thanks again for clarifying @chaeplin!

    In Tao's Setup Guide, we need to run "masternode genkey" in Dash Wallet to get MASTERNODEPRIVKEY and "masternode outputs" to get transaction hash, which are needed for masternode.conf. How do we get these two piece of data from a KeepKey offline wallet?
     
  10. flare

    flare Administrator
    Core Developer Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,213
    Likes Received:
    2,375
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    As for
    Code:
    masternode genkey
    you can use ANY Dash Core wallet for that, the key is not bound to any funds.

    The "masternode outputs" on the other hand is the txid of the 1000 Dash transaction.

    e.g. your masternode pubkey is https://explorer.dash.org/address/XvEHqxrprcoZ7SUUK2sCn3vGiBw3E2wGvK, then the matching masternode output is

    https://explorer.dash.org/tx/9b6b8995da5944ed0f13d775d1abeb693fbcc3c2b32b933bb65d6f6cacecbd6a#o1
     
  11. chaeplin

    chaeplin Active Member
    Dash Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    323
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Dash Address:
    XiDWe5fkVcrXBQApmCFQUxpue5iuWcbmcK
    1) mn privkey is random one, so use any dashcore wallet to generate
    2) masternode outputs is txid and vout you send to an address on keepkey, Use block explorer or transaction history on Keepkey App.
     
  12. bitbybit

    bitbybit New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Thank you @flare and @chaeplin!

    If that's the case, would it work if we run masternode off a Dash wallet in Windows as described here by @tungfa and @UdjinM6, except that the deposit is kept in KeepKey offline wallet? If not, what additional changes are needed to keep the deposit offline?

    It seems much quicker to get going if we can run masternode off a Dash wallet. The main concern was the need to keep deposit in that online wallet.
     
    #12 bitbybit, Mar 20, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2017
  13. flare

    flare Administrator
    Core Developer Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,213
    Likes Received:
    2,375
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Sure, that's how it works. For using hardware wallets you need the help from supporting scripts (e.g. dashmnb), but technically it works the same.

    That was never a requirement, you can start a masternode with "offline" coins since day 1. Funding wallet and masternode are distinct entities.
     
  14. bitbybit

    bitbybit New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Thank you @flare for guiding me along to thus far --
    Running "./dash-cli mnsync status" produces correct results
    "AssetID": 999,
    "AssetName": "MASTERNODE_SYNC_FINISHED" ...

    and dashmnb was able to talk to my KeepKey HW wallet to get a list of addresses. Fun stuff so far!
    And after reading dashmnb help more carefully, I was able to start the masternode from dashmnb. Running "dash-cli masternodelist full" shows that my node is listed there but status is "New_Start_Required".

    Again pardon me w/ hopefully one last newbie question :) -- does dashmnb have restart command? I ran "dashmnb.py <node name>" again, but it doesn't restart -- just displays the same status.

    So close to the finish line ...
     
    #14 bitbybit, Mar 21, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2017
  15. bitbybit

    bitbybit New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    quick update: Instead of restart the masternode I just rebooted the remote VPS. Seems like dashd is out-of-sync w/ network since yesterday. resyncing now ...
     
  16. bitbybit

    bitbybit New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
  17. chaeplin

    chaeplin Active Member
    Dash Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    323
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Dash Address:
    XiDWe5fkVcrXBQApmCFQUxpue5iuWcbmcK
    @bitbybit join dash nation slack. http://www.dashnation.com/chat/


    Which setup do you use ?
    1) dashmnb + local dashd/QT + remote vps(masternode)
    2) dashmnb + remote vps(masternode)
    3) dashmnb + rpcsvc by chaeplin + remote vps(masternode)

    if 1) ==> check your local dashd/QT is updated to 12.1


    start/restart mnalias1 only ---> dashmnb.py -a mnalias1
    start/restart all mns status is not in ENABLED/PRE_ENABLED/WATCHDOG_EXPIRED ---> dashmnb.py -a
     
    #17 chaeplin, Mar 22, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2017
  18. bitbybit

    bitbybit New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    @chaeplin I believe it's 3) dashmnb + rpcsvc by chaeplin + remote vps(masternode) w/ the following dash mainnet in dash.conf:
    USE_SSH_TUNNEL = False
    rpcusessl = True
    rpcuser = 'dashmnb'
    rpcpassword = 'iamok'
    rpcbindip = 'test.stats.dash.org'
    rpcport = 8080

    # network
    MAINNET = True # mainnet
    wif_prefix = 204 # cc
    addr_prefix = 76 # 4c
    coin_name = 'Dash'
    min_fee = 10000 # fee for tx
    # to display err on masternode.conf
    errorsnprogress = []

    After I ran dashmnb.py -a <mnalias>, the status changes to Watchdog_Expired. At least it's doing something. :)

    Ran "dash-cli masternode status" on remote VPS, got this error:
    "vin": "CTxIn(COutPoint(0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000, 4294967295), coinbase )",
    "service": "<myip>",
    "status": "Not capable masternode: Could not connect to <myip>"

    Have no idea where coinbase came from.

    Just joined dash nation slack under the same username. We can chat there if that's easier. Thanks again!
     
    • Like Like x 1

Share This Page