Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

RC2 Hard Fork on May 14th!

Discussion in 'Official Developer Thread' started by eduffield, May 1, 2014.

  1. eduffield

    eduffield Core Developer
    Dash Core Team

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,084
    Likes Received:
    5,316
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Darkcoin will be forking on May 14th to begin masternode payments. This is a mandatory update, please update as soon as possible.

    Source code (Without DarkSend. For pool operators and anyone else that wants to compile from opensource):
    https://github.com/darkcoinproject/darkcoin

    Links (Without DarkSend):
    http://www.darkcoin.io/downloads/darkcoind
    http://www.darkcoin.io/downloads/darkcoin-qt
    http://www.darkcoin.io/downloads/darkcoin-qt.exe


    Links (With DarkSend):
    http://www.darkcoin.io/downloads/rc/darkcoind
    http://www.darkcoin.io/downloads/rc/darkcoin-qt
    http://www.darkcoin.io/downloads/rc/darkcoin-qt.exe

    Attention pool operators! You must update your daemon and patch
    stratum to enable masternode-payment support.

    To test your environment on testnet, please refer to this post:
    https://darkcointalk.org/threads/rc2-testing-with-pool-support.353/
    Source code can be found here:
    http://www.github.com/darkcoinproject/darkcoin-stratum
    Patched code can be found here:
    https://github.com/darkcoinproject/darkcoin-stratum/blob/master/stratum-masternode-changes.txt


    Sadly P2Pool must be disabled on the network until someone can write a patch to support masternode payments.

    NOMP is also not officially supported
     
    #1 eduffield, May 1, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: May 2, 2014
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Lariondos

    Lariondos Well-known Member
    Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    158
    New darkcoin-qt.exe refuses to start on Win7 32 with error: libwinpthread-1.dll missing.
    Same on Win8.1 x64.
     
  3. scorpio18

    scorpio18 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
  4. Lariondos

    Lariondos Well-known Member
    Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    158
    Working. Thanks!
     
  5. scorpio18

    scorpio18 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Yw man :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. mattmct

    mattmct Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Awesome! Evan, will this work with p2pools? As mentioned that it wasn't working in the test post. Cheers.
     
  7. mattmct

    mattmct Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Download / file works fine for me on windows 8.1, didn't need the extra file. Looks like Evan / InternetApe fixed!
     
  8. eltito

    eltito Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    185
    Trophy Points:
    103
    I must have missed something - there's no checkbox for DarkSend, is it on by default? Can it be turned off if desired (not that I'd want to, just curious)?
     
  9. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Moderator
    Linguistic Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,838
    Likes Received:
    1,859
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    I'm having trouble starting a masternode. It seems darkcoind masternode start is no longer an option. Is there a new way to start one? Thanks :)
     
  10. BrainShutdown

    BrainShutdown Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    188
    You beat me to it! :)
    Same problem here. Is it no longer required to input wallet pass?
     
  11. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Moderator
    Linguistic Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,838
    Likes Received:
    1,859
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Evan, can you please explain the plan? LOL,
     
  12. chaeplin

    chaeplin Official Dash Dev
    Core Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    749
    Likes Received:
    355
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Dash Address:
    XiDWe5fkVcrXBQApmCFQUxpue5iuWcbmcK
    It's sad. Writing a patch to support masternode payments is above my capability.

    EDIT
    I have noticed, Masternode payment will start on "Wed, 14 May 2014 19:09:40 GMT"
    Hard fork is on block 68589.

    I will switch my p2pool node to Maternode for the time being.

    EDIT:
    On p2pool, there will be a lot of hassle.
    With current masternode payments, can't run p2pool + masternode.
    As Evan's plan, p2pool shoud hardfork several times.
    (Personally, I will disable p2pool till RC4)
     
    #12 chaeplin, May 2, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: May 5, 2014
  13. tefret

    tefret New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    New version: Darkcoin version 0.9.2.2unk-beta

    Old version: Darkcoin v0.10.4.0-unk-beta

    Older: v0.9.1.2-unk-beta

    Which version should we be on? Did I screw up my update at some point?
     
  14. Propulsion

    Propulsion The buck stops here.

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Messages:
    1,008
    Likes Received:
    467
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Dash Address:
    XerHCGryyfZttUc6mnuRY3FNJzU1Jm9u5L
    Thread to discuss developing stratum patch for p2pool and NOMP Stratum. :)
    https://darkcointalk.org/threads/developement-work-for-p2pool-and-nomp-stratum-patch.360/

    Old Source Code for Linux = v0.9.1.2-2-g54fd5f3-beta
    New Source Code for Linux = v0.9.1.2-6-g2fc54f3-beta
     
    #14 Propulsion, May 2, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: May 2, 2014
  15. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Moderator
    Linguistic Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,838
    Likes Received:
    1,859
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Are the masternodes supposed to be functional in this version? Because I can't start mine. Currently I'm compiling, but my ec2 is slow. Maybe that will work?

    I've been popping in whenever I'm home for a few minutes, but have been too busy to help in testing. So I'm wondering if we're still testing on testnet?
     
  16. Propulsion

    Propulsion The buck stops here.

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Messages:
    1,008
    Likes Received:
    467
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Dash Address:
    XerHCGryyfZttUc6mnuRY3FNJzU1Jm9u5L
    MasterNode count on main net returns 39 as of this post.
     
  17. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Moderator
    Linguistic Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,838
    Likes Received:
    1,859
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Yes, but the masternode start is not working on this version, so I'm wondering if something was overlooked or if we're supposed to use the old one until May 14th?

    I get the same error when I compile the code myself:
    error: {"code":-1,"message":"masternode list|count|current> passphrase\n"}
    [email protected]:~$ error: {"code":-1,"message":"masternode list|count|current> passphrase\n"}
     
    #17 TanteStefana, May 2, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: May 2, 2014
  18. elbereth

    elbereth Active Member
    Dash Support Group

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    466
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Dash Address:
    XkfkHqMnhvQovo7kXQjvnNiFnQhRNZYCsz
    What a bad news for P2Pool.. :(
    I will probably setup a Master node in the meantime.
     
  19. InternetApe

    InternetApe I am root, bow before me!

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I have updated the links, they were NOT pointed to the RC2 executables.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Moderator
    Linguistic Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,838
    Likes Received:
    1,859
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Ok, I have an answer from InternetApe (Kyle, our other developer) He said Evan accidentally put up the wrong links. The source has not been opened up (the link above is an old one of an old wallet) Kyle should be updating it soon.

    So because the source looked like it was released, everyone was talking about that today. In actuality, nothing has changed as far as the plan goes.
     
  21. vertoe

    vertoe Three of Nine

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    1,656
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Will I get still more than "one ticket" if I send 2x 1k or 3x 1k to the address 0?
     
  22. Scriptiee

    Scriptiee Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    48
  23. chaeplin

    chaeplin Official Dash Dev
    Core Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    749
    Likes Received:
    355
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Dash Address:
    XiDWe5fkVcrXBQApmCFQUxpue5iuWcbmcK
  24. donho

    donho Member
    Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    58
    It is really sad! I really think p2pool is important especially for DRK. We as a community who a give great deal about anonymization and truslessnes should embrace the decentralised nature of p2pools.
    Hope it will be patchable!
    And thx chaeplin for your great work for p2p mining so far!
     
  25. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Moderator
    Linguistic Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,838
    Likes Received:
    1,859
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    We just need help. Hopefully Evan will figure it out before the 14th. Please don't close down your p2pools until the fork, 'cause they'll work until then!
     
  26. vertoe

    vertoe Three of Nine

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    1,656
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    I will keep my p2pool node running as long as possible, but I agree stef, darkcoin without p2pool network means a major loss of decentralization.
     
  27. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Moderator
    Linguistic Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,838
    Likes Received:
    1,859
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    I'm still having issues starting my masternode with my balance in another wallet. I opened port 9999 to my computer, then I started darkcoind via ./darkcoind -masternodeaddr="server's ip address" then I unlocked my wallet for 300 seconds, and tried to start my masternode on my server via darkcoind masternode start "mypassphrase" and I get "not capable masternode" I even opened my server up to the whole internet, and it didn't help. Is this working for anyone else? Have I forgotten a step? Do I need to do anything from the server's end to reach the wallet with the coins?

    Thanks for any help :)
     
  28. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Moderator
    Linguistic Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,838
    Likes Received:
    1,859
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Same problem still as above, if anyone can help me? I did do a ./darkcoind getaccountaddress 0 and got a different address, I sent the coin to that address, tried again to start my local wallet up with ./darkcoind -masternodeaddr="server's ip address" , then went to my server address and tried to start the MasterNode, and got "not capable masternode" again. I wanted to check my "address 0" to make sure that it was correct, so I did ./darkcoind getaccountaddress 0 again, and got a completely new address (I think it just generates new addresses??)

    Please, can anyone suggest what I might be forgetting or where to look for issues? Thanks so much!!
     
  29. yidakee

    yidakee Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,812
    Likes Received:
    1,168
    Trophy Points:
    283
    I went to check on my MN, and yeah weird. Dont masternode addresses start with "m" ?

    Here is my 1k deposit

    I ran getaaccountaddress 0 a few times, generates a NEW address, starting with "n" ... but always the same.

     
  30. mattmct

    mattmct Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Very sad about the p2pools, but I'm sure this will get fixed in time. Bigger fish to fry right now!

    Okay, I need a clarification. Should we update our masternodes to RC2 or not? ... I've updated my windows wallet. But not sure what to do with my masternodes. Thanks guys.
     

Share This Page