Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

$MN$ v3 updated - Receive text message or email notifications upon masternode payment

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by g8F98FF3gjafogj4, Nov 1, 2014.

  1. g8F98FF3gjafogj4

    g8F98FF3gjafogj4 Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    188
    Third release of $MN$ is ready! This release has added..

    - Monitor / Alert for Masternode "Active" status
    - Add Sum of wallets setting
    - Mouse context menus
    - Couple small fixes

    She's a bit ugly, but customizable alerts and layout options are up next. Please let me know if you have any problems!


    This program monitors your Masternode balances and sends you either a text message or email notification when you are paid.

    Normal view...
    [​IMG]


    With settings exposed...

    [​IMG]

    At the moment it is unfortunately only available on windows, but if everything goes relatively smoothly I'll get to work on Linux and Mac releases shortly. There will be a little more customization added in the near future. If anyone has any specific requests for features I will be happy to look into it. Let me know what you think!



    Download:
    $MN$ v3:
    64-bit Windows: http://s000.tinyupload.com/index.php?file_id=70819957994662373096
    Source: https://gist.github.com/Lf3999f3jfa00/43601d85ecf244c7bd1b

    Donations: Xwkrxyd1qkBktWUG8HQxqViPwwoAnGpimd




    ------------------------------------------------------------
    $MN$ v2:
    - Made code prettier
    - Optimize rtngetbalance per UdjinM6
    - Included amount paid in the message you receive
    - Should work for all addresses, not just MN addresses.
    v2: 64-bit WIndows: http://s000.tinyupload.com/index.php?file_id=46386273221639391793
    v2: Source: https://gist.github.com/Lf3999f3jfa00/295ada2d786a2cf6eb26
    ------------------------------------------------------------
    v1: 64-bit Windows: http://s000.tinyupload.com/index.php?file_id=94751796744693278114
    v1:Source: https://gist.github.com/Lf3999f3jfa00/16404471ea2de480aa68
    ------------------------------------------------------------



    To do list:
    - "Update" notifications
    - Visual: Address Width, Always on top, cursor visibility.
    - Inherent compatibility for "start many" users
    - 32-bit version
    - Mac and Linux release
    - Custimizable notifications
    - Layout options.
     
    #1 g8F98FF3gjafogj4, Nov 1, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 3, 2015
    • Like Like x 9
  2. g8F98FF3gjafogj4

    g8F98FF3gjafogj4 Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    188
    Instructions:
    You need a new gmail account that will be used to send notifications, only takes a couple seconds:
    https://mail.google.com/mail/signup

    Do not enable 2-factor login, and select "Enable" for this security setting while logged into the account:
    http://goo.gl/jVIYzu

    Warning: Please do not use this account for anything else as the password will be stored in an *.ini file and should be considered not very secure.

    Download the zip file and extract it to any location you want, the desktop or "C:\Program Files\$MN$\" would be fine.

    Run $MN$.exe and click on the settings button.

    At the moment you have to use keyboard shortcuts for copying and pasting, so click on the entry box pictured below...

    [​IMG]

    ... use ctrl+v to paste your Masternode address into the entry box and press the "Add" button. Repeat this step for all your masternodes.

    For the "Notify" address entry field, follow this link:
    http://goo.gl/ouiYn
    ... find the format of your cell phone provider on the page. Then enter your 10 digit phone number followed by the "@yourcellphonecompany.com" suffix found on the page.

    For the MN BOT Address use the entire email address of the gmail account you created ex: "[email protected]"

    MN BOT PW is the password for that account.

    Hit update Settings, and then it is a good idea to close the program and start it again. Some versions of windows require the program to restart in order to send the notification, but I think I have this fixed for future versions.

    You can test if it is working by sending yourself 1 DRK or so. Once properly set up, it seems to be really resilient against internet outages etc, so if you get a text message you should be all set! Just leave the program running, minimized is fine.
     
    #2 g8F98FF3gjafogj4, Nov 2, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 3, 2014
  3. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,964
    Likes Received:
    6,736
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Can't wait for the MAC version !
    iPhone too ?
    ;)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. g8F98FF3gjafogj4

    g8F98FF3gjafogj4 Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    188
    Mac will come, iPhone I'm not thinking would be a good fit because it uses the internet connection every 60 seconds and has to be running in order to work.
     
  5. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,964
    Likes Received:
    6,736
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    I can totally live with a Mac version !!!
    am just joking about iphone ... tx for the work , really appriciate it
    keep me posted when any version is solid as I can do some social media DRK promotion !!
     
  6. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    3,536
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    #6 UdjinM6, Nov 2, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 2, 2014
    • Like Like x 1
  7. g8F98FF3gjafogj4

    g8F98FF3gjafogj4 Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    188
    Very cool! That is definitely much better! Will put both tips to use, thank you very much!
     
  8. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,964
    Likes Received:
    6,736
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Regarding ideas :
    you could make a white background, do the window bigger (more space) and a DRK logo in top left corner !?
    no idea how complicate that would be
    but it would look very nice !
    ;)
     
  9. g8F98FF3gjafogj4

    g8F98FF3gjafogj4 Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    188
    Yeah I definitely do that. I'll make it give you the option of 2 layouts, one that's mean and dark looking and one that's clean and nice like you describe. I'll go ahead and make a to do list above.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,964
    Likes Received:
    6,736
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    great
    keep me posted if you need any help or advice with layouts !

    I can send you some ideas if you want
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,964
    Likes Received:
    6,736
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    couldn't help myself !
    just as a quick idea how you could build it around the logo ....>
    [​IMG]
    Edit:
    g8F98FF3gjafogj4 i put some colors in there too,
    remember this is a super basic version, you can make that so much better !
     
    #11 tungfa, Nov 2, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 2, 2014
    • Like Like x 3
  12. g8F98FF3gjafogj4

    g8F98FF3gjafogj4 Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    188
    Yeah man you are definitely on to something there. Shouldn't be too hard to implement. Do you know if its OK for people to just start using the official logos and stuff? It definitely looks good.

    Definitely Tungfa, everything has been good so keep them coming! I'll try and be snappy about getting you the mac version too.
     
  13. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,964
    Likes Received:
    6,736
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    flare
    Minotaur
    it is ok to use the official logo for the above !?
    or is there any issue ?

    @g8F98FF3gjafogj lets see what he said
    i can definitely refine this a bit, let me know if i should ?
     
  14. g8F98FF3gjafogj4

    g8F98FF3gjafogj4 Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    188
    Don't worry about refining it, I'd totally understand if they say it's off limits, but if they do say it's cool I would just need the background file. Thanks Tungfa
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,964
    Likes Received:
    6,736
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    lets wait for them to reply
    (i think it is ok)

    I have the file (comes from Minotaur original !)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. madeyes

    madeyes Active Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    108
    i can't add an MN addresss into the Masternode list. neither typing nor copy/paste works...what am i doing wrong?

    EDIT: ok, found it. ^^. did not notice the text field right under the list :)
     

    Attached Files:

    #16 madeyes, Nov 2, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 2, 2014
    • Like Like x 1
  17. g8F98FF3gjafogj4

    g8F98FF3gjafogj4 Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    188
    I guess it is a bit hard to see, I'll brighten it up a bit. You also reminded me that you have to use keyboard shortcuts to paste rather than right clicking, I'll add that to the to do list.
     
  18. thelonecrouton

    thelonecrouton Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    813
    Trophy Points:
    283
    I asked Minotaur some time ago if I could use some of the 'official' artwork from the branding thread and he said sure no problem, if that helps. I've been pinching it and noodiling with it plenty. :)

    BTW great work g8F98FF3gjafogj4!
     
  19. g8F98FF3gjafogj4

    g8F98FF3gjafogj4 Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    188
    Thanks man! Try as I might I was not able to come up with a name as cool as SMUT! I did however follow your lead on using tiny upload to host the file, which seems to be pretty decent really.
     
  20. raze

    raze King of the Morlocks
    Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Dash Address:
    Xtrdw361DvoyDhxL5XoeAvTxTPvM4dXuLW
    Any artwork incorporating the logo is required to have a CC BY-SA, so you're fine as long as any artwork you create using it has the same license.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  21. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,964
    Likes Received:
    6,736
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    raze the design mast !
    good to hear from you !

    Minotaur still gotta reply as these logo's are coming from him direct and are not available on the public download at darkcoin.io !
     
  22. MrMime

    MrMime Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    188
    This is bad ass! Can't wait to receive my messages directly. Tipped! 6de46ee067f6d9df4b08c1c02d2afd8954ff3c4570490d4fee13f41e47a2c84a
     
    • Like Like x 1
  23. raze

    raze King of the Morlocks
    Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Dash Address:
    Xtrdw361DvoyDhxL5XoeAvTxTPvM4dXuLW
    Yeah, you can ask him. Legally, you don't need to though. If it uses the logo in any way, you're free to use it under the CC license.

    The only reason it's not on the website is because I didn't put it up. ;)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  24. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,964
    Likes Received:
    6,736
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    ok great
    feel free to help g8F98FF3gjafogj4 with the design
    i know you are the man
    i just played around with it for a sec last night !
     
    • Like Like x 1
  25. g8F98FF3gjafogj4

    g8F98FF3gjafogj4 Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    188
    Thanks! Let me know if you want anything changed or have problems.
     
  26. Minotaur

    Minotaur Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    1,079
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Use the official logo and colors as much as you want, we need to spread our brand and image.
     
    • Like Like x 4
  27. tungfa

    tungfa Administrator
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Masternode Owner/Operator Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,964
    Likes Received:
    6,736
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Tx minotaur
    that is great news !

    ok g8F98FF3gjafogj4 all yours
    go get em tiger.

    Let me know if I should look into that design/layout again
     
    • Like Like x 1
  28. g8F98FF3gjafogj4

    g8F98FF3gjafogj4 Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    188
    Awesome, thanks Minotaur! Really is amazing work, looks great.
     
  29. oaxaca

    oaxaca Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    832
    Trophy Points:
    263
    I hate Windows!

    [​IMG]
     
  30. g8F98FF3gjafogj4

    g8F98FF3gjafogj4 Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    188
    Dang! Yeah I suppose it is because its compiled in 64 bit and looks like you are trying to run it on a 32 bit system! Will have to come out with a 32 bit version. Sorry about that!

    *Doesn't look like it will be too tough or take too long. I'll make sure to send you a PM when it's ready.
     
    #30 g8F98FF3gjafogj4, Nov 3, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 3, 2014