Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

Fork to stop masternode payments

Discussion in 'Official Developer Thread' started by eduffield, May 26, 2014.

  1. eduffield

    eduffield Core Developer
    Dash Core Team

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,084
    Likes Received:
    5,316
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Since launching masternode payments the network has kept randomly
    forking. We're not exactly sure what is the cause, but to stop this
    and restore stability we are going to fork to remove masternode
    payments.

    This fork will go into effect Tuesday at 19:00 GMT. Sorry for the
    short notice, but this is an emergency fork.

    Source: https://github.com/darkcoinproject/darkcoin

    Thanks,

    Darkcoin Team
     
  2. Lzeppelin

    Lzeppelin Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Is this 10.8.9 / 9.4.9? Are the binaries up?

    edit: binaries for the qt I mean, I already got my darkcoind on 10.8.9.
     
  3. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Moderator
    Linguistic Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,838
    Likes Received:
    1,859
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Okay, do you need me to actually run a masternode? I'm pooped, but if running a masternode with this version helps stabilize the network, I'll do it :)
     
  4. eduffield

    eduffield Core Developer
    Dash Core Team

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,084
    Likes Received:
    5,316
    Trophy Points:
    183
    We've found out an exchange is on the wrong fork and are choosing to
    fork immediately .

    Please update ASAP and -reindex to find the correct fork. This is the
    correct chain: http://explorer.darkcoin.io/chain/DarkCoin
     
  5. eduffield

    eduffield Core Developer
    Dash Core Team

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,084
    Likes Received:
    5,316
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Binaries are being compiled, the correct versions will be 9.4.11 and 10.8.11
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. vertoe

    vertoe Three of Nine

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    1,656
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    @evan, i suggest we do a mass testing on testnet. with at least 5-6 active pools and p2pool and stuff.
    In theory everything was looking good but the hardfork showed like nothing really worked as expected.
     
  7. Kai

    Kai Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    78
    I'm no expert but maybe it was because everybody on testnet, was disciplined and had the latest version. In the real world (mainnet) it's something else : between the laziness, those who don't see the update info and those who purposely want to create havoc ...
     
  8. instacash

    instacash New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    3
  9. noob

    noob New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Think this is correct for us noobs?

     
  10. Kai

    Kai Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Yes but you don't need to repeat
    and
    Just wait it will sync.
     
  11. fernando

    fernando Powered by Dash
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    2,026
    Trophy Points:
    283
    Yes
     
  12. yidakee

    yidakee Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,812
    Likes Received:
    1,168
    Trophy Points:
    283
    Ok, as soon as I can get compiled versions, I can go testnet ASAP
     
  13. yidakee

    yidakee Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,812
    Likes Received:
    1,168
    Trophy Points:
    283
    Holy shit Evan... I sent to Mintpal, they had 2 confirmed tx until they locked-out....
    Since the tx is on the blockchain unclaimed, am I correct to suppose they're safe once Mintpal re-opens?

    I had checked the x-id before, but for some reason Mac QT 0.9.4.6 appends "-000" to it when right-click-copy over the field, has 36 confirms, so when I copied that to the official explorer and was not found, almost had a hear attack...
     
    #13 yidakee, May 26, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: May 26, 2014
  14. precrime3

    precrime3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    So where are download links for new wallets? Still being compiled?
     
  15. karloz34

    karloz34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I just downloaded the one from www.darkcoin.io and it is version 10.8.11.
     
  16. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,608
    Likes Received:
    3,516
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
  17. Simcom

    Simcom New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    First breathe. Ok, once the blockchian gets sorted, there are only two possibilites: #1) the coins are safely in the mintpal wallet, or #2) the coins are safely in your wallet. There is no way to lose them mate, you just have to be patient :)
     
  18. n00b_miner

    n00b_miner New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Also the blockchain explorer was broken for a good few blocks, so it may have coincided with that :)
     
  19. 7FigureSwagger

    7FigureSwagger New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ah! Glad to read this! Updating to latest wallet on .io then!
     
  20. stonedpuppy

    stonedpuppy New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I know most of you are half way round the world from Arkansas, but I'm drinking heavily and you're all welcome to come over! :what: Some of you guys have busted your asses and I'll be more than happy to buy u a drink!
     
    • Like Like x 4
  21. dupee419

    dupee419 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'll second that. I'm in VT and I'd buy any of the devs here a drink right now.
     
  22. yidakee

    yidakee Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,812
    Likes Received:
    1,168
    Trophy Points:
    283
    Yeah, I got freaked by the QT appending -000 for some reason (probably a simple techy feature when it un-syncs?), but the actual tx is is identical to Mintpal, and that does show up perfectly its on the blockchain, just waiting for them to re-open market...

    Love you Instacash, despite my recent near-death experience :tongue:

    Instacash is a HUGE asset to Darkcoin right now... seriously, if you're on a Mac, you're a total douche if you don´t tip him, he's flying solo!
     
  23. TanteStefana

    TanteStefana Moderator
    Linguistic Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,838
    Likes Received:
    1,859
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Agreed, he's great!

    I'm too lazy to go east to Arkansas, but I'm lifting my Diet Coke in a Prost to all of you die hards! (as there's no beer in the house at the moment, Sh*#)
     
  24. vertoe

    vertoe Three of Nine

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    1,656
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Wait, what, why are you sending DRK to mintpal?

    Let me teach you one thing: buy low, sell high. Now is the time to send BTC to mintpal :)
     
  25. yidakee

    yidakee Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,812
    Likes Received:
    1,168
    Trophy Points:
    283
    ok, Mac QT updated to stable .11 and -re-indexed ?

    http://explorer.darkcoin.io/chain/DarkCoin ... block height seems frozen at
    75202 2014-05-26 21:48:29 - anyone confirm please?

    Cheplin's - 1 min ago May 26 2014 23:28:26 75197
     
  26. yidakee

    yidakee Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,812
    Likes Received:
    1,168
    Trophy Points:
    283
    if it were my money... just a precaution! Sent funds to Kraken, just waiting to clear! double edged sword kind of thing...
     
  27. stonedpuppy

    stonedpuppy New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    It still appears frozen. My 3 wallets all show 75221 this moment
     
  28. yidakee

    yidakee Well-known Member
    Foundation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1,812
    Likes Received:
    1,168
    Trophy Points:
    283
    not here, climbing by the average 2.5. right now on 75223
     
  29. fernando

    fernando Powered by Dash
    Dash Core Team Foundation Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    2,026
    Trophy Points:
    283
    Do we know anything about this? If we run them they may fork again and the shit never clears. If we don't maybe we are doing some harm also... I'm sorry if this has been said somewhere else, I'm just back from a day on the road. In the morning I was happy because I was getting paid (in one of my MNs twice!!). In the afternoon I was seen everything go mad from a train with a poor connection in my phone. I've been reading/posting as much as possible, but I'm quite behind. My MNs are reindexing now and it is going fast.
     
  30. vertoe

    vertoe Three of Nine

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    1,656
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    I got 1 payout on 10 masternodes... i guess thats just bad luck.
     

Share This Page