• Forum has been upgraded, all links, images, etc are as they were. Please see Official Announcements for more information

Does HFT at Poloniex destroy value of DASH ???

rustycase

Thank you for reading my thoughts on this Very important topic !

This morning, I checked the marketplace to see what the value of DASH was on the open market.

It was a shock to me.

For the last 8 hours, the normally fluctuating price/value of DASH, in relation to other coins/payment methods, had been fixed in a narrow, specific bandwidth, by someone operating a High Frequency Trading robot program.

This exercise does NOT reflect the true value of DASH. It does forcefully reflect what someone demands it shall be. ...For as long as they feel it should be so !

I shall qualify my observation, as follows:

I am a Newbie to crypto. I have seen true value in DASH. This has influenced my participation in the service.

Research, via CryptocompareDOTcom declares 82% of DASH is traded on Poloniex exchange, 8% on BitTrex, and 8% on BTCe. Furthermore, 97% of access to DASH is from hoders of BTC.

These figures are quite significant, to the extent of a crisis level, especially with an HFT Bot controlling the DASH exchange at Poloniex.

How much truth IS there in the crypto marketplace ???

According to the above statistic, 97% of access to DASH comes from BTC holders...
96% of BTC holdings are in CNY. USD is only 3%.
30% of btc is traded at BitFinEx, 14% at Coinbase, 13% at BTCe, and 7% at BitStamp exchange.

For other comparisons, 70% of ETH is traded at Poloniex and 70% of that volume comes from BTC holders.

90% of Monero (XMR) activity is at Poloniex and 99% is purchased by BTC holders.

Litecoin (LTC) is nearly in lockstep with BTC on the OKCoin charts, which I check 1st, each morning.

Please take this opportunity to verify what I have presented !

Does a solitary HFT Bot exert more influence upon DASH than Anything all the Devs, (and the best of intentions), have upon DASH ?