Welcome to the Dash Forum!

Please sign up to discuss the most innovative cryptocurrency!

CoiniumServ Pool for Darkcoin

Discussion in 'Questions and Help' started by Dezvail, Jan 9, 2015.

  1. Dezvail

    Dezvail New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Hello,

    I'm trying to setup a mining pool but while mining, I'm constantly getting following errors in debug.log:

    2015-01-09 14:41:49 ERROR: CheckProofOfWork() : hash doesn't match nBits
    2015-01-09 14:41:49 ERROR: CheckBlock() : proof of work failed
    2015-01-09 14:41:49 ERROR: ProcessBlock() : CheckBlock FAILED

    Occasionally there is also "socket send error 10053" but maybe this is not related. I'm using CoiniumServ and it is saying "We thought a block was found but it was rejected by the coin daemon".

    I would very much appreciate if someone could give some hints where the problem could be? I have searched everywhere and tried everything I can think of.
     
  2. vertoe

    vertoe Three of Nine

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,573
    Likes Received:
    1,652
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    which daemon version are you running?
     
  3. Dezvail

    Dezvail New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    v0.10.17.24-gee8174a-beta
     
  4. vertoe

    vertoe Three of Nine

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,573
    Likes Received:
    1,652
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
  5. Dezvail

    Dezvail New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I would think so since the server included ready-made configuration file for Darkcoin and I believe the developer was mining it in his own pool. Anyway, do you think the problem is in CoiniumServ?
     
  6. mrnick

    mrnick New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I am in the process of setting up a new mining pool for darkcoin. All is going well everything is up and running. The only problem is that the daemon is not receiving any new blocks(thats what CoiniumServ reports)

    I have also read about these master nodes which brings us to my question, does my darkcoin daemon need to be a master node so it'll find new blocks? Or are master nodes not related to this problem at all?

    Thank you in advance
     
  7. vertoe

    vertoe Three of Nine

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,573
    Likes Received:
    1,652
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    I suspect coiniumserv not to honor masternodes correctly. could you send me your full debug log of the pool daemon to [email protected] ?

    thanks.
     
  8. vertoe

    vertoe Three of Nine

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,573
    Likes Received:
    1,652
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    in addition i have reports that recent NOMP instances also do not find blocks, something must be wrong out there but i am no professional. could anyone with more experience also look into that? who is running pools with NOMP and coiniumserv?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. mrnick

    mrnick New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I've send you my debug.log file. I also ran the "darkcoind getblocktemplate" myself which actually does return data and transactions so I'm guessing that the pool software is indeed not compatible with CoiniumServ? Do you know which software might be compatible since there are quite a few pools out there. I can't image that they all written their own implementation on how to handle the master servers
     
  10. Dezvail

    Dezvail New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I gave up and learned my lesson; don't try to setup a pool in Windows. I installed MPOS/NOMP in Linux and it seems to be working perfectly.
     
  11. vertoe

    vertoe Three of Nine

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,573
    Likes Received:
    1,652
    Trophy Points:
    1,283
    Merged two threads. It seems CoiniumServ is not supporting Darkcoin.

    Try MPOS, NOMP or P2Pool. A few more should exist.
     
  12. mrnick

    mrnick New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the help. I kinda figured that I couldnt anything about the masternodes in the source code. I also tried NOMP which also tells me no blocks found so I guess that should just be a configuration error right? @Dezvial did you set anything specific for Darkcoin in a config file or should it just work?
     
  13. Dezvail

    Dezvail New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    There was a lot of trial and error configuration but I don't remember doing any Darkcoin-specific stuff, other than setting standard things like coin name, symbol, algorithm etc. I followed these instructions:
    https://github.com/zone117x/node-open-mining-portal/#usage
    https://github.com/zone117x/node-open-mining-portal/wiki/Setting-up-NOMP-for-MPOS-usage

    When I said everything seems to be working, I meant all logs are clear form errors and I'm able to submit shares successfully. However, I have not yet got any coins as my hash rate isn't that great. Would be great if someone here could help me a bit with mining. The portal is located at: miners.fi (0% fee).
     
  14. buechling

    buechling New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    hey! i tested both software very intensively - but both were not worth it.. very complex configurations, many problems!

    coiniumserv: only works with very few coins.. has no coin-specific functions implemented.. drk will not work!
    nomp / node-stratum-pool: has drk-features.. but masternode doantion of 20% is hardcoded.. so when you want to use it now, you have to change it to 37.5%

    develoment is stuck.. we have to find new pool software.. i will look at powerpool as a next candidate..

    i also opened another post here! when someone has a working software for running a pool, please tell me!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Dezvail

    Dezvail New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I don't have any problems with MPOS+NOMP. We have even found our first block and verified the payment system. Try it out at miners.fi (0% fee).
     
  16. buechling

    buechling New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    okay.. i was always frightened of mpos.. too much config etc..

    why do you use both? do you use nomp for mining and mpos for payouts? then i would expect that you had the same problems as with a normal nomp install..
     
  17. Dezvail

    Dezvail New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Yes. I really like the MPOS UI.

    What kind of problems? It took some time for me to get everything up and running but I don't remember any major issues.
     
  18. buechling

    buechling New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    i can not post links ( new user ^^ ) but please look at my other post in this folder!

    i still don't quite get it.. you are mining with mpos or nomp? both can work standalone.. can you tell me which version of mpos and nomp you use? ( from which repository.. )
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    3,536
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Dezvail that's what buechling is referencing to https://darkcointalk.org/threads/actual-pool-software-get-node-stratum-pool-nomp-running.4019/

    buechling would be nice to see nomp error log output to identify the exact problem, not the one from darkcoin.

    Haven't look at nomp for a while so it looks not that familiar to me as before but if you are sure that it's because of wrong reward calculated here https://github.com/zone117x/node-stratum-pool/blob/master/lib/transactions.js#L136 then why calculate reward at all? I believe rpcData is from darkcoind getblocktemplate command and if it's you can simply use exact value daemon provided to you:
    Code:
    var payeeReward = rpcData.payee_amount;
     
  20. buechling

    buechling New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Thank you UdjinM6...

    i have no other log than
    will log debug soon..

    Line 136 should indeed be the problem.. i will try it, but i already fixed it manually to
    Code:
    var payeeReward = Math.ceil(reward * 0.375);
    so there supposedly is another problem beside the reward?
     
    #20 buechling, Feb 16, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 16, 2015
  21. Dezvail

    Dezvail New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ah. Sorry, I'm not familiar with the source code (didn't touch it) or how the master nodes work.

    To my undestanding MPOS needs separate stratum mining server. I cannot check the version right now but I got all the sources mid January from master branches.
     
  22. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    3,536
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Afaik - JS is not very accurate with rounding so I would still suggest to try using rpc data instead.
     
  23. buechling

    buechling New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    ah okay.. that's interesting.. i checked the block of your pool..
    you solved block 220597 .. as we can see in the explorer, you donated 0.92861143 of the 4.64285715 .
    that's pretty close to 20%

    so we learn three things:
    - you have the buggy nomp version and should upgrade soon.. maybe someday blocks with 20% will be orphaned by the network?
    - i guess you still have an old version of the darkcoin daemon? i think the new one would reject those blocks...
    - blocks with 20% are still accepted .. so my nomp should work too!?
     
  24. Dezvail

    Dezvail New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I have the latest version, 11.1.25.
     
  25. buechling

    buechling New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    ah okay cool.. so it works in principle.. and fortune is just against me ^^

    as another test i joined the testnet.. i could create 34 blocks without problems.. but this does not tell much, as the masternode tests are skipped..
     
  26. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    3,536
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    Well.. What I see in that log: you are not creating blocks - your wallet just verifies old blocks it downloaded from another peers.
     
  27. buechling

    buechling New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    right.. debug.log is funny.. i had to delete it, then it was written again to disk with actual logs.. so here we can see that i can create blocks in testnet..
     
  28. UdjinM6

    UdjinM6 Official Dash Dev
    Dash Core Team Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    3,536
    Trophy Points:
    1,183
    From console output - yes, as you have "generated" but not from log as it's from mainnet. You need to grab testnet3/debug.log instead.

    EDIT: and btw masternode payments enforcement is off on testnet right now
    Code:
    # darkcoind spork show
    {
        "SPORK_1_MASTERNODE_PAYMENTS_ENFORCEMENT" : 1523519981,
        "SPORK_3_INSTANTX_BLOCK_FILTERING" : 1523519981,
        "Unknown" : 1523519981
    }
    # date -d @1523519981 -u
    Thu Apr 12 07:59:41 UTC 2018
    
     
    #28 UdjinM6, Feb 17, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 17, 2015
  29. Dezvail

    Dezvail New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Hey Udjin, do you think there is some problem in my pool configuration too regarding masternodes as buechling suspected?
     
  30. buechling

    buechling New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    what also looks strange for me: i am not having more than 8 connections on mainnet.. other coins have around 25 connections.. is it possible that i am in a "bad neighbourhood" with nodes that send me wrong packages?
    where do i find good addnodes? i have very old ones from the bitcointalk thread..

    and another thougt: what will the flag
    -litemode=<n> Disable all Masternode and Darksend related functionality (0-1, default: 0)
    do? could it help me?