• Forum has been upgraded, all links, images, etc are as they were. Please see Official Announcements for more information

How do I update the wallet in Linux?

daddeo

How in the hell do I update the wallet in Linux? I compiled a wallet using Propulsions guide and it starts and hangs. It's version
v0.9.1.2-8-g11cb148-beta. I know it's not the latest one but its all thats available on github that I can see. Obviously I've never done this before so please keep the laughter down. :) I feel like such an arse for asking but my patience is wearing thin. I have about zero Linux knowledge. HELP!

Download the latest source and recompile. If you have the latest source code, you are probably out of luck. You could try recompiling anyway.

EDIT: Make a backup before you start futzing with your wallet! Things happen and you will be sad if you lose your wallet.

Download the latest source and recompile. If you have the latest source code, you are probably out of luck. You could try recompiling anyway.

EDIT: Make a backup before you start futzing with your wallet! Things happen and you will be sad if you lose your wallet.
Thanks for the reply. I've downloaded the latest files from the website but I'm not sure how to implement them to the source code I guess. Its also a new wallet so there's nothing in it to back up.

The instructions should be in the readme. See the following files and follow the directions:
  1. README.md
  2. INSTALL
  3. build-unix.md

I just noticed that a new release has been issued on GitHub so maybe that will bring me up to date. However, the fact remains that I couldn't figure out how to update the wallet. I tried removing the darkcoin-qt from the darkcoin folder compiled from source with the updated darkcoin-qt downloaded from the website but it won't start. I'm sure it's a simple fix, it's just out of my skill set at this point. I guess you've got to start somewhere.:)

Inside the directory where you downloaded it.
Code:
sudo git pull
sudo make clean