• Forum has been upgraded, all links, images, etc are as they were. Please see Official Announcements for more information

Forking Megathread

Thank you for that, bud. Are there any ideas as to what IS causing this, then?
Flare, thanks for this post. Many people on this forum and IRC keep saying MNs on the older versions caused the forks and I keep saying but the network was stable on the older versions, there must be something in the Core version that rejects the blocks... But I'm a noob, I don't quite understand all this.

What has been causing the forks, flare? and are we out of the woods now? Thank you!
Fact: forks only occured with masternode payment enforcement enabled. Which points me to the payment verification code. This seems to have changed from v10 to v11. So blocks mined by v10 miners may be incompatible with blocks mined by v11 miners and vice versa- in enforcement mode. The solution for me: dont enable enforcement until 90% of miners updated to v11 - this worked in the past and i dont see any reason why it should not work this time.

Fact: forks only occured with masternode payment enforcement enabled. Which points me to the payment verification code. This seems to have changed from v10 to v11. So blocks mined by v10 miners may be incompatible with blocks mined by v11 miners and vice versa- in enforcement mode. The solution for me: dont enable enforcement until 90% of miners updated to v11 - this worked in the past and i dont see any reason why it should not work this time.
Didn't we have 80%+ of miners on Core, if so, the majority of nethash should have been mining on the right blockchain. Then again, I read numerous pools rolling back to Onyx for stability so who really knows.

Didn't we have 80%+ of miners on Core, if so, the majority of nethash should have been mining on the right blockchain. Then again, I read numerous pools rolling back to Onyx for stability so who really knows.