• Forum has been upgraded, all links, images, etc are as they were. Please see Official Announcements for more information

Pre-proposal: Hackathon Sponsorship & Dash Giveaway

arjunyg

Hi all,
I'm a little new to the Dash forums, but I hope you all like this proposal, and I would greatly appreciate feedback on how to make this viable.

I am proposing to have Dash sponsor a collegiate hackathon in my area. For those of you unfamiliar, a hackathon is an event where a group of individuals gather for 24-48 hours to build projects from start to finish to be submitted for judging and prizes. Hackathon events are typically free to attend, with all necessary transportation, venues, chairs, tables, food, electricity, etc. funded by sponsors. Typically sponsors are tech companies that use the opportunity to circulate their brand with students, to seek out hiring candidates, and to encourage innovation. Frequently, sponsors also offer prizes for the best use of their API/technology/platform (eg. IBM might offer a prize for the best use of their cloud services).

In particular, I would like Dash to sponsor CruzHacks (formerly HackUCSC) at the University of California, Santa Cruz in late January. Alternatively, we could sponsor SF Hacks in March, if the CruzHacks timeline is too aggressive. CruzHacks is an ideal candidate for sponsorship because they are going into their 5th annual event, and are well established with great and growing attendance (600+ students two years ago, 700+ last year). As a hackathon aimed at computer science and engineering college students, this event provides an excellent opportunity to encourage development of products and applications with the Dash payment system.